Saxon are an English hard-rock/metal band from Barnsley that released six albums and a live disc on Carrere between 1979 and 1984, followed by titles on Parlophone and EMI during the second half of the 1980s. The following three decades yielded a handful of albums apiece on Virgin, Steamhammer, and UDR.

Members: Biff Byford (vocals), Paul Quinn (guitar), Pete Gill (drums, 1976-81), Graham Oliver (guitar, 1976-95), Steve Dawson (bass, 1976-86), Nigel Glockler (drums, 1981-87, 1988-98, 2005-present), Paul Johnson (bass, 1986-88), Nigel Durham (drums, 1987-88), Nibbs Carter (bass, 1988-present)

Saxon formed in late 1976 when the frontal pair of Barnsley hard-rockers Coast, singer Biff Byford and guitarist Paul Quinn, teamed with two members of local rivals SOB: guitarist Graham Oliver and bassist Steve Dawson. Rounded by ex-Glitter Band drummer Pete Gill, they initially gigged as Son of a Bitch before changing their name to Saxon in 1977.

During the following 24-month period, Saxon built a following on the English club circuit and opened on select dates for Motörhead. In late 1978, they signed to the French label Carrere. Between January and March 1979, they cut their first album at London’s Livingston Recording Studios.


  • Saxon (1979)
  • Wheels of Steel (1980)
  • Strong Arm of the Law (1980)
  • Denim and Leather (1981)
  • The Eagle Has Landed: Live (1982)
  • Power & the Glory (1983)
  • Crusader (1984)
  • Dèmoni (OST, 1985)
  • Innocence Is No Excuse (1985)
  • Rock the Nations (1986)
  • Destiny (1988)
  • Solid Ball of Rock (1990)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *