Robin Trower

Robin Trower (born March 9, 1945) is an English rock/blues guitarist with a musical career that dates back to the early 1960s. He first rose to prominence as a member of Procol Harum, with whom he played from 1967 to 1971. He made his solo debut with the 1973 release Twice Removed from Yesterday and has since issued more than 20 solo albums. During the early 1980s, he recorded two albums as part of a duo with ex-Cream bassist Jack Bruce.

Robin Trower grew up in Southend-on-Sea, Essex, where he formed The Raiders in 1960 with his older brother, singer Mick Trower. Robin and Raiders bassist Chris Copping soon joined rising R&B/beatsters The Paramounts, which featured pianist/singer Gary Brooker and drummer B. J. Wilson. As the 1963 beat boom engulfed England, The Paramounts signed to Parlophone and scored a hit with their first single, “Poison Ivy” (UK #35). They issued five further singles before folding in 1966.

In 1967, Brooker scored a global chart-topper with “A Whiter Shade of Pale,” recorded as a one-off with a studio group dubbed Procol Harum. In light of the song’s popularity, Brooker wanted to make Procol Harum and ongoing concern. Preferring old mates over studio musicians, he summoned Trower and Wilson (and later Copping) into the band and they recorded Procol Harum, released in December 1967 on Regal Zonophone. Trower recorded four further albums with the band — Shine on Brightly, A Salty Dog, Home, and Broken Barricades — before leaving Procol Harum in 1971.

Before going solo, Trower assembled a band with Scottish vocalist Frankie Miller, ex-Jethro Tull drummer Clive Bunker, and former Stone the Crows bassist/singer James Dewar. This outfit was short-lived and broke up without recording any material. Retaining Dewar, Trower enlisted drummer Reg Isidore and they became the Robin Trower Band.


  • Twice Removed from Yesterday (1973)
  • Bridge of Sighs (1974)
  • For Earth Below (1975)
  • Long Misty Days (1976)
  • In City Dreams (1977)
  • Caravan to Midnight (1978)
  • Victims of the Fury (1980)
  • Back It Up (1983)
  • Passion (1986)
  • Take What You Need (1988)
  • In the Line of Fire (1990)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *