Robert Wyatt

Robert Wyatt (born Jan. 28, 1945) is an English vocalist and songwriter from Bristol who rose to prominence as the singer and drummer in Soft Machine. After recording four albums with the band between 1968 and 1971, he left to form Matching Mole, which cut two albums for CBS in 1972. The following year, he was paralyzed from the waist down after a fall from a fourth-floor window.

During the mid-1970s, the now-wheelchair-bound Wyatt released back-to-back solo albums on Virgin and appeared in concert with the label’s avant-rock flagship Henry Cow. As a vocalist, he appeared on the 1976/77 releases by Austrian composer Michael Mantler. The ensuing three decades yielded sporadic solo releases from Wyatt amid appearances on albums by News From Babel, Working Week, Ryuichi Sakamoto, and The Happy End.


  • The End of an Ear (1970)
  • Rock Bottom (1974)
  • Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard (1975)
  • Old Rottenhat (1985)
  • Dondestan (1991)
  • Shleep (1997)
  • Cuckooland (2003)
  • Comicopera (2007)
  • ’68 (2013, recorded 1968)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *