Red Zebra

Red Zebra were a Belgian art-punk/coldwave band formed in 1978 in Brugge, West-Vlaanderen. Between 1980 and 1982, three singles and an EP were issued on the band’s namesake self-press Zebra. The band’s singular album from this period, Maquis, appeared in 1983 on Parsley. A further EP was issued the following year on Himalaya. The 1990s and 2000s would see sporadic activity by the band.

Members: Nicolas Delfosse (guitar), Chery Derycke (bass), Hazy (guitar), Jan D’Hondt (guitar), Patrick Provoost (vocals), Jurgen Surinx (bass), Bruno Melon (guitar, 1978-96), Peter Vreede [aka Pip] (bass, 1978-96), Johan Isselée (drums, 1978-present), Geert Maertens (guitar, 1978-present), Peter Slabbynck (vocals, 1978-present)


  • “Graveyard Shuffle” / “Innocent People” / “I Can’t Live in a Living Room” (1980)
  • “TV-Activity” / “I’m Falling Apart” (1981)
  • Bastogne (EP, 1981)
  • “Lust” / “Beauty of the Beast” (1982)
  • Maquis (1983)
  • Always (EP, 1984)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *