Quantum Jump

Quantum Jump was an English supergroup that fused jazz-funk and space-rock on their 1976–77 albums Quantum Jump and Barracuda, both released by the Electric Record Company. Singer–producer Rupert Hine fronted the band, which featured Peddlers drummer Trevor Morais, Caravan bassist John G. Perry, and Kevin Ayers guitarist Mark Warner.

In 1979, their re-released single “The Lone Ranger” became a Top 5 UK hit.

Members: Rupert Hine (vocals, keyboards), John G. Perry (vocals, bass), Mark Warner (guitar), Trevor Morais (drums, percussion)


Quantum Jump sprung from a series of 1972 mega-jams held by veteran drummer Trevor Morais at his countryside rehearsal space, Farmyard, where creative sparks flew with singer–songwriter Rupert Hine.

Morais (b. October 10, 1944; Liverpool) had stints in multiple Merseybeat groups (Rory Storm & The Hurricanes, Faron’s Flamingos) and served eight years in The Peddlers, a Mancunian soul-jazz trio. After six albums, he left during the tour for their lavish 1972 release Suite London, a collaboration with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Hine (b. 1947) first recorded in Rupert & David, a mid-sixties folk-pop combo with lyricist David McIver. Years after their 1965 Decca single (a cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s “Sound of Silence,” released before the song became famous), they signed to Deep Purple‘s Purple Records. Roger Glover produced their 1971 album Pick Up a Bone. After their 1973 second Purple release, Unfinished Picture, Hine’s interests shifted to rhythmic styles of music.

By 1973, Trevor’s jams shrunk from their initial cast of 22 participants. Hine summoned Unfinished Picture bassist John G. Perry, who Rupert met through a mutual friend, arranger Simon Jeffes. Perry cut a 1971 album in Gringo and joined Caravan for their 1973 release For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night.

Meanwhile, Hine launched his production career with the 1973 Dawn release Growing, the third album by Jonesy. In 1974, he produced The Confessions of Dr. Dream and Other Stories, the fifth solo album by ex-Soft Machine bassist–singer Kevin Ayers. During the album’s sessions (which involved Perry on five tracks), Hine was impressed by the tactile delivery of guitarist Mark Warner, a prior sessionist for (eventual Fox mastermind) Kenny Young. After one Farmyard rehearsal, they brought him into the fold.

Hine, Morais, Perry, and Warner studied recent developments in funk (Kool & The Gang, Little Feat, Tower of Power) and jazz-rock (Miles Davis, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Weather Report, Return to Forever); influences fused with Rupert’s English songwriting sensibilities. He named their act Quantum Jump after a conversation with filmmaker Anthony Stern (a University of Cambridge grad who used passages from Unfinished Picture in Wheels, an experimental short). Stern explained the recent UoC discovery of jumps in electron energy levels (quantums), which contradicted prior theories of linear wavelength continuity.

With financial backing by Jeffrey Levinson (a minor industry figure), Quantum Jump recorded their first album in 1974 at Farmyard. Unfinished Picture soundman Steve Nye engineered the project with equipment loaned from AIR Studios. Once completed, Hine shopped the album to various labels. In 1975, music entrepreneur Jeremy Thomas showed interest in their track “The Lone Ranger” but insisted it needed a stronger intro.

In a recent edition of the Guinness Book of World Records, Hine noticed an 85-letter Maori name for a hill on the southeast coast of New Zealand’s north island:


For help with pronunciation, Rupert spoke with Trevor’s house guest, Chris Thompson, a Kent-born musician raised in New Zealand. Hine divided the world into measured syllables for the intro and middle of “The Lone Ranger,” which Thomas marked for release on his new label, The Electric Record Company. (Thompson soon joined Manfred Mann’s Earth Band).

Quantum Jump

Quantum Jump released their self-titled debut album in 1976 on The Electric Record Company.

A1. “Captain Boogaloo” (4:19)
A2. “Over Rio” (4:22)
A3. “The Lone Ranger” (2:55)
A4. “No American Starship (Looking for the Next World)” (4:55)
B1. “Alta Loma Road” (4:46)
B2. “Cocabana Havana” (5:10)
B3. “Constant Forest” (2:17)
B4. “Something at the Bottom of the Sea: Parts 1-4” (8:10)

Producer – Rupert Hine
Engineer – Steve Nye
Remix – Denim Bridges, Steve Nye

Bass, Vocals – John G. Perry
Drums, Percussion – Trevor Morais
Keyboards, Lead Vocals, Multilectras Varium – Rupert Hine
Vocals, Guitar – Mark Warner

Percussion – Morris Pert, Ray Cooper
Lyrics By – David McIver, Jeannette Obstoj (A4)

Design, Artwork [Original] – David Juniper, Trevor Smith
Photography By – Anthony Stern, Fin Costello, John G. Perry, Mark Lawrence, Mike Warner


Quantum Jump released their second album, Barracuda, in April 1977 on The Electric Record Company.

A1. “Don’t Look Now” (4:16)
A2. “The Seance (Too Spooky)” (3:45)
A3. “Barracuda” (6:10)
A4. “Starbright Park” (6:00)
B1. “Love Crossed (Like Vines In Our Eyes)” (6:45)
B2. “Blue Mountain (Aloha Green Sea)” (3:30)
B3. “Europe On a Dollar a Day” (3:51)
B4. “Neighbours” (6:45)

Recorded mixed & mastered at Trident Studios London October 1976 – February 1977
Producer – Rupert Hine
Producer [Assisted By] – Jerry Smith
Engineer – Jerry Smith

Bass Guitar, Vocals – John G. Perry
Drums, Percussion – Trevor Morais
Keyboards, Vocals – Rupert Hine
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Paul Keogh
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Viola, Viola [Electric], Flute [Kentish Wheeze Flute, Ilkley Brain Flute] – Geoffrey Richardson

Lyrics By – Jeanette Obstöj (A2, B1, B2, B4), Martin Hall (A1, A3, A4, B3)
Music By – Quantum Jump
Percussion – Ray Cooper

Brass Arrangements – Henry Lowther
String Conductor – Simon Jeffes
Vocals [Additional] – Elkie Brooks
Tower Of Lowther Horn Section – Henry Lowther, Jeff Daly
Penguin Cafe String Ensemble – Gavin Wright, Helen Liebmann

Illustration – Dan Pearce
Photography By – Liam Byrne



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *