Pavlov’s Dog

Pavlov’s Dog was an American symphonic/art-rock band from St. Louis, Mo., that released the album Pampered Menial on ABC in 1975, followed by At the Sound of the Bell on CBS in 1976. In 1977, a bootleg surfaced of recordings for a third album that was ultimately given an official release by archivists Anthology in 1992.

Members: David Surkamp (lead vocals, guitar), Mike Safron (drums, percussion, 1972-76, 2009-present), Steve Scorfina (lead guitar, 1972-78), David Hamilton (keyboards, 1972-76), Douglas Rayburn (Mellotron, flute, bass, percussion, 1972-90), Richard Stockton (bass, 1972-78), Siegfried Carver [Richard Nadler] (violin, viola, Vitar, 1972-76), Thomas Nickeson (acoustic guitar, backing vocals, 1976-78), Kirk Sarkisian (drums, 1976-90)

Pavlov’s Dog formed in St. Louis, Missouri, in 1972, named after the experiments in canine classical conditioning by Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov. They gigged regionally for three years before courting interest from ABC and Columbia.

By the time they entered the studio, the lineup featured singer David Surkamp, guitarist Steve Scorfina, bassist Rick Stockton, drummer Mike Safron, violinist Siegfried Carver, and keyboardists David Hamilton and Doug Rayburn. Scorfina hailed from a pre-record lineup of REO Speedwagon. Surkamp fronted Touch, a local blues-rock band that released the album Street Suite on self-press Mainline Records in 1970 (not to be confused with the Portland, Ore., Touch).


  • Pampered Menial (1975)
  • At the Sound of the Bell (1976)
  • Third (aka ‘St. Louis Hounds’) (1977)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *