Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney (born June 18, 1942) is an English pop-rock singer, bassist, and songwriter from Liverpool who rose to fame as one-fourth of The Beatles, which he co-founded in the late 1950s and played with until their disbandment in 1970. Between 1963 and 1969, the band recorded 11 proper studio albums and numerous non-album sides with McCartney co-credited, along with guitarist/vocalist John Lennon, on most of the numbers.

McCartney debuted as a solo artist in April 1970 with a self-recorded surnamesake album on Apple, followed by the album Ram — co-credited to his keyboard-playing wife Linda — in 1971. That same year, the couple formed Wings with original Moody Blues frontman Denny Laine. Between 1971 and 1979, the band released seven studio albums, assorted singles, and a live double-LP with an ever-changing cast of guitarists and drummers.

In 1980, McCartney resumed his solo career with a second eponymous album, followed in 1982 by the popular Tug of War, which reunited him with Beatles producer George Martin. The decade also yielded high-profile collaborations with Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson, as well as three proper studio albums and a soundtrack between 1983 and 1989.

Wings members: Paul McCartney (vocals, bass, keyboards, guitar, percussion, drums), Linda McCartney (keyboards, vocals), Denny Laine (guitar, vocals, bass), Denny Seiwell (drums, 1971-73), Henry McCullough (guitar, 1971-73), Geoff Britton (drums, 1974-75), Jimmy McCulloch (guitar, vocals, 1974-77), Joe English (drums, vocals, 1975-77), Laurence Juber (guitar, 1978-81), Steve Holley (drums, 1978-81)

Paul McCartney



Paul McCartney released his debut solo album, McCartney, on April 17, 1970, on Apple.


“Another Day”

On February 19, 1971, Paul McCartney released the standalone single “Another Day,” an acoustic vignette backed with “Oh Woman, Oh Why.” 


On May 17, 1971, Paul and Linda McCartney released Ram, their only album as a duo.


Wild Life

Wings released their debut album, Wild Life, on December 7, 1971, on Apple.


“Give Ireland Back to the Irish”

On February 25, 1972, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Give Ireland Back to the Irish,” a protest single backed with an instrumental version of the song.

“Mary Had a Little Lamb”

On May 12, 1972, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Mary Had a Little Lamb,” a Paul–Linda number backed with “Little Woman Love.” 

“Hi, Hi, Hi”

On December 1, 1972, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Hi, Hi, Hi,” a Paul–Linda number backed with “C Moon.”


Red Rose Speedway

Wings released their second album, Red Rose Speedway, on April 30, 1973, on Apple. Technically, the album was billed as Paul McCartney & Wings.

Band on the Run

Wings released their third album, Band on the Run, on December 5, 1973, on Apple. This was their second of two albums billed as Paul McCartney & Wings.


“Junior’s Farm”

On October 25, 1974, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Junior’s Farm,” a Paul–Linda number backed with “Sally G.”

“Walking in the Park with Eloise”

In late 1974, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Walking in the Park with Eloise,” a Jim McCartney cover backed with “Bridge Over the River Suite.”


Venus and Mars

Wings released their fourth album, Venus and Mars, on May 27, 1975, on Capitol.


Wings at the Speed of Sound

Wings released their fifth album, Wings at the Speed of Sound, on March 25, 1976, on Capitol.

Wings Over America

On December 10, 1976, Wings released the live double-album Wings Over America.


Thrillington (1977, recorded 1971 • Percy “Thrills” Thrillington)

Suzy and the Red Stripes – “Seaside Woman” / “B-Side to Seaside”

“Mull of Kintyre”

On November 11, 1977, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Mull of Kintyre,” a McCartney–Laine folk song backed with the rocker “Girls’ School.”


London Town

Wings released their sixth studio album, London Town, on March 31, 1978, on Parlophone (UK) and Capitol (US).


“Goodnight Tonight”

On March 23, 1979, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Goodnight Tonight,” a McCartney disco-pop number backed with “Daytime Nighttime Suffering.”

Back to the Egg

Wings released their seventh studio album, Back to the Egg, on June 8, 1979, on Parlophone and Capitol.

“Wonderful Christmastime”

On November 16, 1979, Paul McCartney & Wings released “Wonderful Christmastime,” a McCartney yuletide original backed with “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reggae (Instrumental).”


McCartney II

Paul McCartney released his second solo album, McCartney II, on May 16, 1980, on Parlophone and Columbia.


Paul McCartney & Stevie Wonder – “Ebony and Ivory”

Tug of War

Paul McCartney released his third solo album, Tug of War, on April 26, 1982, on Parlophone and Columbia.


Michael Jackson and Paul McCartney – “The Girl Is Mine”

Pipes of Peace

Paul McCartney released his fourth solo album, Pipes of Peace, on October 31, 1983, on Parlophone and Columbia.

Give My Regards to Broad Street

On June 10, 1984, Paul McCartney released Give My Regards to Broad Street, his fifth solo album and the soundtrack to the title-sake movie.

“Spies Like Us”


  • McCartney (1970)
  • Ram (1971 • Paul & Linda McCartney)
  • Wild Life (1971)
  • “Hi, Hi, Hi” / “C Moon” (1972)
  • Red Rose Speedway (1973 • Paul McCartney & Wings)
  • Band on the Run (1973 • Paul McCartney & Wings)
  • Venus and Mars (1975)
  • Wings at the Speed of Sound (1976)
  • Wings Over America (live 2LP, 1976)
  • Thrillington (1977, recorded 1971 • Percy “Thrills” Thrillington)
  • “Mull of Kintyre” / “Girls’ School” (1977)
  • London Town (1978)
  • Back to the Egg (1979)
  • McCartney II (1980)
  • Tug of War (1982)
  • Pipes of Peace (1983)
  • Give My Regards to Broad Street (OST, 1984)
  • Press to Play (1986)
  • Снова в СССР (1988 • Пол Маккартни)
  • Flowers in the Dirt (1989)
  • Off the Ground (1993)
  • Flaming Pie (1997)
  • Run Devil Run (1999)
  • Driving Rain (2001)
  • Chaos and Creation in the Backyard (2005)
  • Memory Almost Full (2007)
  • Kisses on the Bottom (2012)
  • New (2013)
  • Egypt Station (2018)


  • Discogs: Paul McCartney
  • 45worlds: Paul McCartney
  • 45cat: Paul McCartney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *