Pacific Eardrum

Pacific Eardrum were a multi-national jazz-funk/soul band that released two albums on Charisma in 1977 and 1978, followed by a third on CBS in 1980. The band’s lineup featured three New Zealanders, two Americans and one Englishman.

Members: Bill Kristian (bass), Dave MacRae (keyboards), Isaac Guillory (guitar), Jeff Seopardie (drums), Jim Cuomo (sax), Joy Yates (vocals)

Headed by Kiwi husband-and-wife team Dave MacRae and Joy Yates, Pacific Eardrum recorded in England, where they were joined by fellow kiwi Bill Kristian, UK-native Jeff Seopardie, and Arizona-born, ex-Spoils of War/Fireballet horn player Jim Cuomo. Onetime Cryan’ Shames guitarist Isaac Guillory completed the band.

MacRae had played with everyone from Mike Westbrook and Neil Ardley to Olivia Newton-John and the Walker Brothers, in addition to serving time with Matching Mole and Ian Carr’s Nucleus, where he appeared alongside his wife on the 1973 Roots LP. Yates had been a member of Esperanto and sang backup on recordings by Cat Stevens, Chris De Burgh, Chris Youlden, Steve Harley, Jorge Ben, and Yugo-rock sensation Bijelo Dugme.


  • Pacific Eardrum (1977)
  • Beyond Panic (1978)
  • Pacific Eardrum (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *