Osibisa are an Afro-funk/jazz-rock band founded in London in 1969 by four Ghanaian and three Caribbean musicians. The band released eight albums on MCA, Warner Bros., and Island between 1971 and 1976, including a soundtrack for the second installment of the Super Fly franchise. Yes/Uriah Heep illustrator Roger Dean painted the covers for Osibisa’s first three albums. Saxist/percussionist Loughty Amao also played in the jazz-rock supergroups Third World and Zzebra.

Members: Teddy Osai (lead vocals, flute, soprano saxophone, drums), Sol Amarfio (drums, backing vocals), Loughty Amao (percussion, tenor saxophone), Mac Tontoh (trumpet, 1969-2010), Spartacus R (bass, 1969-?), Robert Bailey (keyboards), Wendel Richardson (lead guitar, 1969-73, 1977-present), Kiki Gyan (keyboards, 1972-77), Dikoto Mendengue (bass, 1973-?), Daku “Potato” Adams (percussion), Kofi Ayivor (percussion, congas, 1973-77), Bessa Simons (keyboards), Kwame Yeboah (keyboards), Chris Jerome (keyboards), Gregg Koti Brown (rhythm guitar, lead vocals), Kari Bannerman (lead guitar, backing vocals), Victor Mansah (bass), Emmanuel Rentzos (keyboards, backing vocals), Nii Okine (percussion, congas, backing vocals), Colin Graham (trumpet, backing vocals, 1983-?)


  • Osibisa (1971)
  • Woyaya (1971)
  • Heads (1972)
  • Happy Children (1973)
  • Super Fly T.N.T. (OST, 1973)
  • Osibirock (1974)
  • Welcome Home (1975)
  • Ojah Awake (1976)
  • Black Magic Night – Live at The Royal Festival Hall (1977)
  • Celebration (1980)
  • Mystic Energy (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *