Orange Juice

Orange Juice was a Scottish New Wave/sophisti-pop band from Glasgow that released a string of shortplayers on Postcard Records circa 1980/81, followed by three albums and an EP on Polydor between 1982 and 1984. The band was led by guitarist/songwriter Edwyn Collins, who later found fame as a solo artist.

Members: Edwyn Collins (guitar, vocals), David McClymont (bass, 1978-83), James Kirk (guitar, vocals, 1978-81), Steven Daly (drums, 1978-81), Malcolm Ross (guitar, 1981-83), Zeke Manyika (drums, 1982-85)

Orange Juice evolved from an unsigned late-’70s act named The Nu-Sonics.

In February 1980, Orange Juice released their first single, “Falling and Laughing” (b/w “Moscow Olympics”), on Postcard Records.

A1. “Falling and Laughing”
B1. “Moscow Olympics”
B2. “Moscow”

Along with early singles by Aztec Camera and Josef K, the label issued the subsequent three Orange Juice singles during 1980/81: “Blue Boy” (b/w “Lovesick”), “Simply Thrilled Honey” (b/w “Breakfast Time”), and the two-side “Poor Old Soul.”

Aug 1980
A. “Blue Boy”
B. “Lovesick”

Peel 1. Recorded 1980-10-21. First broadcast 30 October 1980. Repeated 26 November 1980, 26 March 1981.
“Poor Old Soul” / “You Old Eccentric You” / “Falling and Laughing” / “Lovesick”

November 1980
A. “Simply Thrilled Honey”
B. “Breakfast Time”

These recordings were later issued with unreleased early material (including a 1977 Nu-Sonics demo) on the Postcard compilation The Heather’s On Fire.

Mar 1981
A. “Poor Old Soul”
B. “Poor Old Soul Pt. 2”

A live album was recorded on 5/17/81 at Glasgow’s Hellfire Club but it was shelved when the band signed to Polydor. (Postcard later issued the show on CD as Ostrich Churchyard.)

Jun 1981 Unreleased
A. “Wan Light”
B. “You Old Eccentric”

Peel 2. Recorded 1981-08-03. First broadcast 10 August 1981. Repeated 06 October 1981, 10 November 1981, 21 October 1986.
“Dying Day” / “Holiday Hymn” / “Three Cheers for Our Side” / “Blokes On 45”

16 Oct 1981
A. “L.O.V.E… Love”
B. “Intuition Told Me”

8 Jan 1982
A: Felicity
B: In A Nutshell

You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever

Orange Juice released their debut album, You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever, in February 1982 on Polydor.

It features nine Edwyn Collins originals, including “Satellite City,” “Dying Day,” “Tender Object,” “Upwards and Onwards,” and a re-recorded “Falling and Laughing.”

Guitarist James Kirk submits three songs: “Wan Light,” “Three Cheers for Our Side,” and a studio version of the earlier flexi side “Felicity.” 

1. “Falling and Laughing” (3:51)
2. “Untitled Melody” (2:04)
3. “Wan Light” (2:23)
4. “Tender Object” (4:25)
5. “Dying Day” (3:00)
6. “L.O.V.E. Love” (3:32) Al Green, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges, Willie Mitchell
7. “Intuition Told Me (Part 1)” (1:09)
8. “Upwards And Onwards” (2:27)
9. “Satellite City” (2:43)
10. “Three Cheers For Our Side” (2:50)
11. “Consolation Prize” (2:50)
12. “Felicity” (2:34)
13. “In a Nutshell” (4:15)

It was produced by Adam Kidron, whose contemporaneous credits cover the Rough Trade roster (Scritti Politti, The Raincoats, Delta 5, Zounds, The Red Crayola). The album’s one non-original, a cover of the 1975 Al Green hit “L.O.V.E. Love,” was issued as a single.

Kirk and drummer Steven Daly left after the album’s release. They were replaced by ex-Josef K/Happy Family guitarist Malcolm Ross and Zimbabwean drummer Zeke Manyika.

6 Aug 1982
A: Two Hearts Together
B: Hokoyo

8 Oct 1982
A: I Can’t Help Myself
B: Tongues Begin To Wag

Rip It Up

Orange Juice released their second album, Rip It Up, in November 1982 on Polydor. Of the 10 tracks, Collins claims five exclusive credits, including “Louise Louise,” “Breakfast Time,” and “Mud In Your Eye.”

Other tracks were co-written with McClymont (“I Can’t Help Myself”) or contributed by Manyika (“A Million Pleading Faces”) and Ross (“Turn Away”). Two songs (“Rip It Up” and “Hokoyo”) are group compositions.

1. “Rip It Up” (5:19) features splotchy sounds created on the briefly available Roland TB-303
2. “A Million Pleading Faces” (3:15)
3. “Mud in Your Eye” (3:56)
4. “Turn Away” (3:19)
5. “Breakfast Time” (5:10)
6. “I Can’t Help Myself” (5:06)
7. “Flesh of My Flesh” (3:13)
8. “Louise Louise” (2:55)
9. “Hokoyo” (5:07)
10. “Tenterhook” (5:00)

The album features several notable guests, including saxophonist Dick Morrissey (If, Morrissey Mullen), violinist Gavyn Wright (Penguin Cafe Orchestra), and percussionist Mel Gaynor (Central Line, Simple Minds). The 1983 a-side “Flesh of My Flesh” was added to later issues of Rip It Up.

Feb 1983
A: Rip It Up
B: Snake Charmer

May 1983
A: Flesh Of My Flesh
B: Lord John White And The Bottleneck Train

Texas Fever

In March 1984, Orange Juice issued the six-song EP Texas Fever.

1. “Bridge” (3:38)
2. “Craziest Feeling” (Edwyn Collins, Frank Want) (3:02)
3. “Punch Drunk” (Malcolm Ross) (3:34)
4. “The Day I Went Down to Texas” (2:42)
5. “A Place in My Heart” (3:01)
6. “A Sad Lament” (4:43)

Ross and McClymont left the band, leaving Collins and Manyika to carry on the Orange Juice banner with hired-hands Clare Kenny (bass), Dennis Bovell (keyboards), and Johnny Britton (guitar).

Feb 1984
A: Bridge
B: Out For The Count
C: Poor Old Soul (Live)

Apr 1984
A: What Presence?!
B: A Place In My Heart (Dub Version)

The Orange Juice

Orange Juice released their self-titled third album in November 1984 on Polydor. The album features 10 Collins originals, including “Lean Period,” “Out for the Count,” “Salmon Fishing In New York,” and “Scaremonger.”

1. “Lean Period”
2. “I Guess I’m Just a Little Too Sensitive”
3. “Burning Desire”
4. “Scaremonger”
5. “The Artisans”
6. “What Presence?!”
7. “Out for the Count”
8. “Get While the Gettings Good”
9. “All That Ever Mattered”
10. “Salmon Fishing in New York”

Collins launched his solo career with a pair of late-’80s singles, culminating with the 1989 Demon Records release Hope and Despair, his first of 10 albums over the subsequent three decades. In 1995, he scored a transatlantic hit with the fuzz-tinged retro-Merseybeat track “A Girl Like You” from the album Gorgeous George.


  • You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever (1982)
  • Rip It Up (1982)
  • Texas Fever (EP, 1984)
  • The Orange Juice (The Third Album) (1984)


  • “Falling and Laughing” / “Moscow Olympics” / “Moscow” (1980)
  • “Blue Boy” / “Lovesick” (1980)
  • “Simply Thrilled Honey” / “Breakfast Time” (1980)
  • “Poor Old Soul” / “Poor Old Soul Pt. 2” (1981)
  • “L.O.V.E… Love” / “Intuition Told Me Pt. 2” (1981)
  • “Felicity” / “In a Nutshell” (1982)
  • “Two Hearts Together” / “Hokoyo” (1982)
  • “I Can’t Help Myself” / “Tongues Begin to Wag” (1982)
  • “A Million Pleading Faces” / “Breakfast Time” (1982)
  • “Love Sick” / “A Sad Lament” (1983)
  • “Rip It Up” / “Snake Charmer” (1983)
  • “The Day I Went Down to Texas” (1983)
  • “Flesh of My Flesh” / “Lord John White and the Bottleneck Train” (1983)
  • “Bridge” / “Out for the Count” (1984)
  • “What Presence?!” / “Place in My Heart (Dub)” (1984)
  • “Lean Period” / “Bury My Head in My Hands” (1984)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *