Mother Superior

Mother Superior was an English all-female rock band that recorded the album Lady Madonna, released in 1976 on the Swedish SMA label.

Members: Lesley Sly (keyboards, lead vocals), Audrey Swinburne (lead guitar, lead vocals), Jackie Badger (bass, vocals), Jackie Crew (drums, vocals), Simon Etchell (keyboards), Janis Sharp (guitar), Kate Buddeke (vocals), Pete Chapman (guitar)


Mother Superior formed in London in June 1974 when guitarist Audrey Swinburne and New Zealand-born keyboardist Lesley Sly (both singing songwriters) teamed with bassist Jackie Badger and drummer Jackie Crew. They gigged for two years between England and Benelux.

In 1975, they took advantage of downtime at IBC Studios, where they cut an album for a rumored deal with Polydor. It first appeared as an untitled test-press with the IBC logo on the record label. They made six UK test pressings but couldn’t secure a proper domestic release. In 1976, Mother Superior got an offer from SMA, a Swedish schlager label reputed for its recent support of the jazz-rock bands Lotus and Pandora.

Lady Madonna

Mother Superior released their singular album, Lady Madonna, in 1976 on SMA. It features five Sly–Swinburne originals and covers of Stephen Stills (“Love the One You’re With”) and the titular Beatles classic.

1. “No Time Toulouse Lautrec” (5:49)
2. “Just One Look” (5:53)
3. “Mood Merchant” (7:03)
4. “Love the One You’re With” (4:39)
5. “Ticklish Allsorts” (5:19)
6. “Lady Madonna” (4:35)
7. “Years Upon Tears” (5:57)

Lady Madonna is the earliest production credit of IBC staffer Hugh Jones, an engineer on 1972–74 titles by David Ackles (American Gothic), Lesley Duncan, Matthew Fisher, Tim Hardin, Return to Forever (Light As a Feather), and String Driven Thing. He went on to produce post-punk titles by Essential Logic, The Sound, Teardrop Explodes, and Echo & The Bunnymen.

Later Activity

Mother Superior continued as a live act for two years through multiple lineup changes. Lesley departed for stints in the unsigned acts Daughters of Zeuss and Garbo. Audrey joined the all-female rock group Brandy and served in the Ivy Benson Orchestra, an all-female UK jazz ensemble (founded in the 1940s).

The two Jackie’s continued Mother Superior with singer Kate Buddeke, guitarist Janis Sharp, and male keyboardist Simon Etchell. After six months, Janis joined Axess, her husband’s band. Guitarist Pete Chapman played out the final months of Mother Superior, which disbanded in December 1977.

Jackie Badger recorded two albums with Snips, a new wave act led by singer Steve Parsons (ex-Sharks, Baker Gurvitz Army). Jackie Crew reappeared on the 1981 EP Stereotyping by the jazz-rock combo Jam Today. Lesley Sly later surfaced with two writing credits on Musical Images Vol. 10, a 1991 new age release on the Australian Image Music Library label, credited to Oceania.

In 1996, Lady Madonna made its CD debut on Audio Archives, a UK indie reissue label dedicated to overlooked seventies artists (Fantasy, Graphite, Northwind, Oberon, Skin Alley).


  • Lady Madonna (1975)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *