Mike Batt

Mike Batt (Feb. 6, 1949) is an English composer and arranger from Southampton who conducted a string of instrumental/interpretive recordings with his namesake orchestra for DJM Silverline between 1970 and 1972. In 1973, he masterminded the first of six releases by the costumed studio act The Wombles, a musical vehicle for the namesake children’s television series.

In 1977, Batt conducted the all-star symphonic-rock recording Schizophonia, featuring the London Symphony Orchestra ‎and released on Epic. The subsequent Tarot Suite, credited to Mike Batt and Friends, features appearances by Rory Gallagher, Roger Chapman, and Colin Blunstone. Three further orchestrated works appeared on Epic between 1980 and 1982, including the popular 1981 release Six Days in Berlin, featuring guitarists B.J. Cole and Ray Russell. Batt’s 1986 Adventure Records release The Hunting of the Snark features vocal performances by Art Garfunkel, Cliff Richard, Captain Sensible, Deniece Williams, Julian Lennon, and Roger Daltery.

Batt’s songs have been recorded by numerous performers, including David Essex, Barbara Dickson, Cliff Richard (“Please Don’t Fall In Love“), Elaine Paige, and The Hollies.


  • Batt Tracks (1970 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Portrait of Bob Dylan (1971 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Portrait of Elton John (1971 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Portrait of The Rolling Stones (1971 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Portrait of George Harrison (1971 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Portrait of Cat Stevens (1971 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Portrait of Simon and Garfunkel (1971 • The Mike Batt Orchestra)
  • Schizophonia (1977)
  • Caravans (OST, 1979)
  • Tarot Suite (1979)
  • Waves (1980)
  • Six Days in Berlin (1981)
  • Zero Zero (1982)
  • The Hunting of the Snark (1986)
  • Songs of Love and War (1988)
  • Classic Blue (1989 • Justin Hayward With Mike Batt & The London Philharmonic Orchestra)
  • The Dreamstone – Music and Songs from (1990)
  • Arabesque (1995)
  • Keep the Aspidistra Flying (OST, 1998)
  • Philharmania (1998)
  • Watership Down (OST, 2000)
  • Bright Eyes at the Railway Hotel (2004)
  • A Songwriter’s Tale (2008)
  • A Classical Tale (2015)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *