Michael Henderson

Michael Henderson (born July 7, 1951) is an American R&B bassist, vocalist, songwriter, and producer from Yazoo City, Miss., who served as a backing player for Miles Davis during the early 1970s. As a solo artist, he released seven albums on Buddah between 1976 and 1983, followed by an eighth on EMI in 1986.

At age 19, Henderson played uncredited bass on the UK-only album Live at the Talk of the Town by Stevie Wonder, recorded at the London nightclub Talk of the Town and released in 1970 on Tamla Motown.

Later that year, Henderson got his break when he was enlisted by Miles Davis. His bass playing is heard on the jams “Sivad,” “What I Say,” “Funky Tonk,” and “Inamorata and Narration by Conrad Roberts,” recorded at the Cellar Door in Washington, DC, on December 19, 1970, and included on Miles’ 1971 release Live-Evil. Henderson played on the bandleader’s three subsequent studio albums (A Tribute to Jack Johnson, On the Corner, Get Up With It) and all the ensuing live discs leading up to Miles’ break from the music industry.

In 1975, Henderson contributed bass, lead vocals, and one song (“Valentine Love”) to the album Saturday Night Special by Norman Connors. Henderson also played on The Shadow Do by Gary Bartz, contributing the track “Make Me Feel Better.” He was also one of five bassists on the album Drama V by The Dramatics, on which he produced and co-wrote two songs, “Dramatic Theme / Treat Me Like a Man” and “Just Shopping (Not Buying Anything).”

With these accomplishments under his belt, Henderson signed to Buddah Records as a solo artist.


  • Solid (1976)
  • Goin’ Places (1977)
  • In the Night-Time (1978)
  • Do It All (1979)
  • Wide Receiver (1980)
  • Slingshot (1981)
  • Fickle (1983)
  • Bedtime Stories (1986)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *