Michael de Albuquerque

Michael de Albuquerque (born June 24, 1947) is an English musician, singer, and songwriter who cut two singles on United Artists in 1969/70, followed by a jazz-rock album for Pegasus with saxist/vibist Frank Ricotti in 1971. From 1972 to 1974, Albuquerque served as the bassist for the Electric Light Orchestra, playing on the albums ELO 2, On the Third Day, and Eldorado. During his time with the band, Albuquerque cut his first solo album, We May Be Cattle but We’ve All Got Names, for RCA Victor in 1973. After departing the band, he released Stalking The Sleeper on Warner Bros. in 1976. In 1979, he teamed with violinist and fellow ELO alumnus Mik Kaminski in the band Violinski, which issued two albums on Jet Records at the turn of the decade.


  • “Better Men Than Me” / “Burn, Burn, Burn” (1969)
  • “Roll Him Over” / “Blind Man” (1970)
  • First Wind (1971 • Ricotti & Albuquerque)
  • We May Be Cattle but We’ve All Got Names (1973)
  • Stalking The Sleeper (1976)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *