MFSB — an acronym for Mother Father Sister Brother — was an American jazz-funk big band that served as the house orchestra for Philadelphia International Records during the 1970s. They played on recordings by Billy Paul, Dexter Wansel, The Ebonys, Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, The O’Jays, The Spinners, The Three Degrees, and The Trammps.

As a recording outfit in their own right, MFSB released six albums on PIR between 1973 and 1978, followed by a seventh in 1980 on the label’s TSOP imprint.

Members: Anthony Jackson, Bobby Eli, Bobby Martin, Carla Benson, Charles Collins, Damon Bennett, Dennis Harris, Dexter Wansel, Don Renaldo, Earl Young, Eddie Green, Harold Williams, John Ingram, Karl Chambers, Keith Benson, Larry Washington, Lenny Pakula, Leon Huff, Michael Foreman, Norman Farrington, Norman Harris, Quinton Joseph, Reggie Lucas, Roland Chambers, Ronnie Baker, Theodore Life, Thom Bell, TJ Tindall, Tony Williams, Victor Carstarphen, Vincent Montana, Jr., Zach Zachary, Jimmy Williams, Winnie Wilford


  • MFSB (1973)
  • Love Is the Message (1973)
  • Philadelphia Freedom (1975)
  • Universal Love (1975)
  • Summertime (1976)
  • The Gamble-Huff Orchestra (1978)
  • Mysteries of the World (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *