Marillion are an English art-rock band that released a 24-minute EP on EMI in 1982, followed by four studio albums and two live discs on the label between 1983 and 1988. After the departure of frontman Fish for a solo career, the band added ex-Europeans vocalist Steve Hogarth for a lengthy run of albums during the 1990s and into the 21st century.

Members: Steve Rothery (guitar), Doug Irvine (vocals, bass, 1979-81), Brian Jelliman (keyboards, 1979-81), Mick Pointer (drums, 1979-83), Diz Minnitt (bass, 1981-82), Fish (vocals, percussion, 1981-88), Mark Kelly (keyboards, 1981-present), Pete Trewavas (bass, vocals, 1982-present), Andy Ward (drums, 1983), John Marter (drums, 1983), Jonathan Mover (drums, 1983), Ian Mosley (drums, percussion, 1984-present), Steve Hogarth (vocals, piano, guitar, percussion, 1989-present)


Marillion had its roots in Electric Gypsy, an unsigned Aylesbury band with bassist Doug Irvine and (future Solstice) guitarist Andy Glass. In 1977, they welcomed drummer Mick Pointer.

In late 1978, Irvine and Pointer formed a splinter band, Silmarillion, named after the posthumous collection of myths by English writer J. R. R. Tolkien (1892–1973). After one London show with (future Friday) keyboardist Neil Cockle and veteran guitarist Martin Jenner (Andy Bown, Chris Rainbow, Dave Cartwright), the lineup stabilized under the shortened name Marillion with Pointer, Irvine, guitarist Steve Rothery, and keyboardist Brian Jelliman. Marillion made their live debut on March 1, 1980, at the Berkhamsted Civic Centre in Hertfordshire.

In March 1980, Marillion recorded a demo tape comprised of four originals: “Alice,” “Herne the Hunter,” “The Haunting of Gill House,” and a nameless instrumental colloquially known as “Scott’s Porridge.” Alternate versions of the leaked demo replace “Porridge” with an instrumental second version of “Alice.” Irvine sings lead on the vocal tracks.

The lineup of Pointer, Irvine, Rothery, and Jelliman recorded a second demo in the summer of 1980, comprised of a re-imagined “Alice” and two embryonic epics: “Lady Fantasy” (derived from an Electric Gypsy number) and “Close” (composed of themes later reworked into “Chelsea Monday,” “The Web,” and “He Knows You Know”). Marillion recorded both demo tapes at Hertfordshire at The Enid‘s studio.

On January 2, 1981, bassist William ‘Diz’ Minnitt replaced co-founder Doug Irvine. Marillion found a proper vocalist in Scotsman Derek Dick, aka Fish, who debuted live with the band on March 14, 1981, at Bicester’s Red Lion Pub.

In July 1981, Marillion cut their third demo tape, comprised of “Garden Party,” “Charting the Single,” and “He Knows You Know.” Later that year, Jelliman cleared for keyboardist Mark Kelly. In early 1982, bassist Pete Trewavas replaced Minnitt, who cut two mid-eighties cassettes with Pride of Passion.

In February 1982, Marillion gained nationwide exposure on the Friday Rock Show, a BBC Radio 1 music program hosted by Tommy Vance, whose February 26 broadcast featured the Marillion concert faves “Forgotten Sons,” “Three Boats Down From the Candy,” and “The Web.” The ensuing buzz landed them a contract with EMI Records.


  • Market Square Heroes (EP, 1982)
  • Script for a Jester’s Tear (1983)
  • Fugazi (1984)
  • Misplaced Childhood (1985)
  • Clutching at Straws (1987)
  • Seasons End (1989)
  • Holidays in Eden (1991)
  • Brave (1994)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *