Marianne Faithfull

Marianne Faithfull (born Dec. 29, 1946) is an English singer from Hampstead who released three albums on Decca between 1965 and 1967, scoring early successes with the singles “Come and Stay With Me,” “This Little Bird,” “Summer Nights,” and a cover of the Rolling Stones ballad “As Tears Go By.” The early 1970s found her waylaid with drug addiction and domestic issues. In 1971, she recorded material for a fourth album that would ultimately be shelved until 1984 when it was released as Rich Kids Blues by Castle Communications.

Faithfull reemerged in 1976 with the rustic-tinged NEMS Records release Dreamin’ My Dreams, subsequently reissued as Faithless. She revised her sound and image for the 1979 Island Records release Broken English, recorded with backing by Darryl Way (Curved Air), Jim Cuomo (Fireballet), Morris Pert (Brand X), Steve York (Hardin & York), and Steve Winwood. Three further studio albums followed on Island between 1981 and 1987; a period capped with the popular 1990 live release Blazing Away. The ensuing decade saw her tackle the catalog of Weill and Brecht.


  • Come My Way (1965)
  • North Country Maid (1966)
  • Love in a Mist (1967)
  • Dreamin’ My Dreams [aka Faithless] (1976)
  • Broken English (1979)
  • Dangerous Acquaintances (1981)
  • A Child’s Adventure (1983)
  • Rich Kid Blues (1984, recorded 1971)
  • Strange Weather (1987)
  • Blazing Away (live, 1990)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *