Lodestar were an American hard-rock band from Springfield, Ohio, that released an eponymous album on self-press Lodestar Records Limited in 1979.

Members: Kenny Aronhalt (lead vocals), Joe Dooley (lead guitar, mandolin), Alex Rossito (rhythm guitar, harmony vocals), Vince Craim (bass, guitar), Mark Craim (drums, percussion)

Lodestar issued their singular album in 1979 on their namesake one-press. The record sports a blue label with the band name in circular typeface. The album features eight originals, mostly written by guitarist Alex Rossitto, including “For the Want of a Woman,” “Don’t Mistake My Being,” “Brook, Flow to Me,” and Flat On My Face.” Vocalist Kenny Aronhalt co-wrote half the tracks. The album was recorded at J.C.’s Sound Shop in Springfield and produced by one Jimmy Crain.

Lodestar folded soon after the album’s release. Rossitto and Aronhalt regrouped in another local rock five-piece, Scram, which self-released an eponymous album in 1980.


  • Lodestar (1979)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *