Lem was an American electro-rock band that released the 1977 album Machines on self-press Wavefront Records.

Members: Bryce Robbley (synthesizer, vocals), Alex Cima (synthesizer), Doug Lynner (synthesizer) Danny Sofer (synthesizer, drums)

Lem coalesced in California as the project of four synthesizer players: Bryce Robbley, Alex Cima, Doug Lynner, and Danny Sofer. They also employed drummer Evan Caplan (a syndrum specialist) and violinist John Stubbs. Sofer had ties to Oberheim Electronics, which gave Lem advanced access to state-of-the-art electronic equipment.


Lem issued its singular album, Machines, in 1977 on one-press Wavefront. It features eight songs: six by Robbley and one (“Cyborgs”) co-written by Cima, who contributes “Scat Cat Kitty.” Robbley’s material includes “I Wonder,” “Drone Zone,” and “Robots in Heat.”

Robbley produced Machines at Hollywood’s Star Track Studios. Wah Wah Watson guests on guitar, effects pedals, boomerang sampler, and USS synthesizer.

Robbley and Lynner  subsequently grouped with Caplan and Stubbs in Moebius, which issued the albums Moebius (1979) and Video Soldier In a Radio War (1982) on self-press Moonwood Records.

Robbley and Caplan had joint and separate tie-ins on assorted disco recordings (Arpeggio, Charisma, Delegation, Delilah, Fire and Ice, Leroy Gomez, Romance). Lynner cut a 1983 EP in the synthpop trio Invsible Zoo. Stubbs later recorded with Checkfield.

Alex Cima ‎released the 1979 electro-disco album Cosmic Connection on Polydor and issued two further albums during the 1980s. Sofer recorded with Bay Area garage-psych band Novak and issued a pair of 1982–84 solo singles. He also played keyboards on early hip hop singles by The Wreckin’ Cru’ and Ice T.

Machines gained newfound prestige in the 21st century as a forerunner to later developments in electro-pop.


  • Machines (1977)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *