Le Orme

Le Orme are an Italian symphonic-rock band from Marghera, Veneto, formed in 1966. The band released a string of pop-psych singles during 1968 and 1969, culminating with a debut album on the Car Juke Box label. Between 1971 and 1980, the band released nine albums and a live disc on Philips, followed by an eleventh studio release on DDD in 1982.

Members: Aldo Tagliapietra (vocals, bass, guitar, 1966-2009), Nino Smeraldi (guitar, 1966-70), Claudio Galieti (bass, 1966-69), Marino Rebeschini (drums, 1966-67), Michi Dei Rossi (drums, 1967-69, 1970-present), Tony Pagliuca (keyboards, 1968-92), Dave Baker (drums, 1969), Gian Piero Reverberi (piano), Tolo Marton (guitar, 1975), Germano Serafin (guitar, 1975-81), Michele Bon (keyboards, 1992-present), Francesco Sartori (keyboards, 1992-97)


Le Orme was formed in 1966 Venice by singer/guitarist Aldo Tagliapietra, formerly of beatsters The Corals. The original Le Orme lineup featured drummer Marino Rebeschini, guitarist Nino Smeraldi, and bassist Claudio Galieti. They initially called the band Le Ombre, a translation of The Shadows, before settling on Le Orme. In one of their earliest gigs, they were among several opening acts for UK transplants The Rokes.

In late 1967, Le Orme recorded “Fiori e Colori,” their first single for the Milan-based label Car Juke Box. Immediately thereafter, Rebeschini cleared way for drummer Michi Dei Rossi. The single appeared in early 1968 (b/w “Lacrime di Sale“), followed by two further singles: “Senti L’Estate Che Torna” (b/w “Mita Mita”) and “Milano 1968” (b/w “I Miei Sogni”). For the latter, keyboardist Tony Pagliuca joined the band.

Ad Gloriam

As a five piece, Le Orme released their debut album, Ad Gloriam, in 1969 on Car Juke Box. It features the last two singles and five additional songs, including “Non so Restare Solo,” “Fiori di Giglio,” and “Oggi Verrà.” The album was co-produced by Tony Tasinato, who later worked with Art Fleury. The psychedelic cover art is co-credited to Luciano Tallarini, who later did visuals for albums by Jumbo and De De Lind.

Galieti left the band just prior to the followup single “Irene” (b/w “Casa Mia”). Soon thereafter, Le Orme slimmed to their classic three-piece lineup of Tagliapietra (who now doubled on bass), Pagliuca, and Dei Rossi. In 1970, they issued one final Car Juke Box single, “L’Aurora” (b/w “Finita La Scuola”). Later that year, they signed to Philips and marked a sound-shift in “Il Profumo delle Viole” (b/w “I Ricordi Più Belli”).


Le Orme released their second album, Collage, in 1971 on Philips.

Uomo di Pezza

Le Orme released their third album, Uomo di Pezza, in 1972 on Philips.

Felona e Sorona

Le Orme released their fourth album, Felona e Sorona, in March 1973 on Philips.

In Concerto

In early 1974, Le Orme released the live album In Concerto.


Le Orme released their fifth studio album, Contrappunti, in 1974 on Philips.


Le Orme released their sixth album, Smogmagica, in 1975 on Philips.

Verità Nascoste

Le Orme released their seventh album, Verità Nascoste, in 1976 on Philips.

Storia o Leggenda

Le Orme released their eighth album, Storia o Leggenda, in 1977 on Philips.


Le Orme released their ninth album, Florian, in 1979 on Philips.

Piccola rapsodia dell’ape

Le Orme released their tenth album, Piccola rapsodia dell’ape, in 1980 on Philips.


Le Orme released their eleventh album, Venerdì, in 1982 on Philips.


  • Ad Gloriam (1969)
  • Collage (1971)
  • Uomo di pezza (1972)
  • Felona e Sorona (1973)
  • Contrappunti (1974)
  • In concerto (live, 1974)
  • Smogmagica (1975)
  • Verità Nascoste (1976)
  • Storia o leggenda (1977)
  • Florian (1979)
  • Piccola rapsodia dell’ape (1980 • Orme)
  • Venerdì (1982)
  • Orme (1990)
  • Il fiume (1996)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *