Lake was a German/Scottish band that released five studio albums and a live disc on CBS between 1976 and 1982, plus three further albums on Polydor during the mid-1980s.

Members: Detlef Petersen (keyboards, vocals, 1973-80), Martin Tiefensee (bass, 1973-80), Geoffrey Peacey (keyboards, guitar, 1973-80), Oreste “Lilio” Malagia (guitar, 1973-75), Fritz “Freddy” Graack (drums, 1973-75), Ian Cussick (lead vocals, 1973-74, 2013-present), James Hopkins-Harrison (lead vocals, 1974-88), Dieter Ahrendt (drums, 1975-86), Alex Conti (guitar, 1975-81, 2003-present), Achim Oppermann (guitar, keyboards, vocals, 1980-88), Frank Hieber [Frank Oberpichler] (keyboards, 1980-85), Heiko Efferts (guitar, 1980-81), Jo Kappl (bass, 1981-86), Erlend Krauser (guitar, 1981-83), Bernd Gärtig (guitar, 1984-88), Thomas Bauer (keyboards, 1985-88)


Lake had its roots in the Tornados, a Hamburg-based Top 40 covers band that gigged relentlessly on the German club circuit. The band included keyboardist Detlef Petersen, drummer Fritz “Freddy” Graack, and bassist Martin Tiefensee.

In 1973, they broke off and formed Lake with guitarist Oreste “Lilio” Malagia, second keyboardist Geoffrey “Jeff” Peacey, and Scottish singer Ian Cussick. They initially recorded as an octet with saxophonist Gerd Beliaeff and trumpeter Bernard “Benny” Whelan, a former backing player of ’60s pop singer Paul Raven (who later became ’70s glam icon Gary Glitter). Their first single, “Come Down” (b/w “We’re Gonna Rock”), appeared later that year on Polydor. It was followed by “King of the Rock’n Roll Party” (b/w “She’s Alright”) and the 1974 release “Sailor” (b/w “Freedom Dreamer”), all credited to Petersen and J. O’Brien – Docker.

In 1974, Cussick got invited by The Hollies to replace their singer Alan Clarke. However, Cussick planned to launch a solo career. He declined the invite and left Lake shortly afterward. (In 1976, he surfaced in the German disco-funk act Linda and the Funky Boys, which charted with “Shame Shame Shame.” His first solo album appeared on Metronome in 1978.)

While in London, Lake encountered another Scottish singer, James Hopkins-Harrison. Graack and Malagia cleared out for Das Panikorchester drummer Detelef Ahrendt and ex-Curly Curve/Atlantis guitarist Alex Conti. The reconstituted six-piece, sans brass, signed to CBS and recorded their first album at the Sawmill Studios in Cornwall, England.


Lake released their self-titled debut album in 1976 on CBS.

Lake II

Lake released their numerical second album in 1978 on CBS.

Paradise Island

Lake released their third album, Paradise Island, in 1979 on CBS.


Lake released their fourth album, Ouch!, in 1980 on CBS.

Hot Day

Lake released their fifth album, Hot Day, in 1980 on CBS.

Live – On the Run

In 1982, Lake released Live – On the Run, a two-record CBS live album sourced from 1979–80 concerts.

No Time for Heroes

Lake released their sixth studio album, No Time for Heroes, in 1984 on Polydor.


Lake released their seventh studio album, Voices, in 1985 on Polydor.

So What

Lake released their eighth studio album, So What, in 1986 on Polydor.


  • Lake (1976)
  • Lake II (1978)
  • Paradise Island (1979)
  • Ouch! (1980)
  • Hot Day (1981)
  • Live – On the Run (1982)
  • No Time for Heroes (1984)
  • Voices (1985)
  • So What (1986)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *