Kevin Ayers

Kevin Ayers (Aug. 16, 1944 — Feb. 18, 2013) was an English singer/songwriter from Herne Bay, Kent, that emerged as the guitarist/vocalist in Soft Machine, playing on the band’s 1968 eponymous debut album. The following year, he launched his solo career with the album Joy of a Toy on Harvest. Between 1972 and 1980, he issued seven further albums; five on Harvest bisected with two on Island. Further albums appeared on assorted labels over the subsequent 11-year period, culminating with the 1992 guest-packed disc Still Life with Guitar on Fnac.


  • Joy of a Toy (1969)
  • Shooting at the Moon (1970 • Kevin Ayers and the Whole World)
  • Whatevershebringswesing (1972)
  • Bananamour (1973)
  • The Confessions of Doctor Dream and Other Stories (1974)
  • Sweet Deceiver (1975)
  • Yes We Have No Mañanas-So Get Your Mañanas Today (1976)
  • Rainbow Takeaway (1978)
  • That’s What You Get Babe (1980)
  • Diamond Jack and the Queen of Pain (1983)
  • Deià…Vu (1984)
  • As Close as You Think (1986)
  • Falling Up (1988)
  • Still Life With Guitar (1992)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *