Jorge López Ruiz

Jorge López Ruiz (April 1, 1935 – Dec. 11, 2018) was an Argentinian bassist, cellist, pianist, arranger, and composer who was active throughout the last four decades of the 20th century. He first appeared in 1961 with the album B.A. Jazz on RCA’s Vik subsidiary. During the mid-1960s, he backed pianist Enrique Villegas on a pair of Latin-jazz albums.

In 1967, Ruiz resumed his solo with the big band/modal set El Grito (Suite Para Orquesta de Jazz). During the first half of the 1970s, he issued a string of avant-garde/jazz-rock albums on EMI and Trova. This approach would culminate in 1976 with the layered, percussive-heavy De las Colonias del Río de la Plata, credited to his six-piece ensemble Viejas Raices, which featured the sundry arsenal of Chilean keyboardist Matias Pizarro.


  • B.A. Jazz (1961)
  • JLR Interpreta a JLR (1964)
  • El Grito (Suite Para Orquesta de Jazz) (1967)
  • Bronca Buenos Aires (1971)
  • De Prepo (1972)
  • Viejas Raíces (1975)
  • De las Colonias del Río de la Plata (1976)
  • Encuentro en Nueva York (1978)
  • Contrabajismos (1988)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *