Jean-Luc Ponty

Jean-Luc Ponty is a French violinist who has been musically active since the early 1960s.

Jean-Luc Ponty was born in Avranches, France, on September 29, 1942, to a pianist mother and a violinist father. At 18, he graduated with the Premier Prix from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. For the next three years, he played violin in the Concerts Lamoureux symphony. Concurrently, he moonlighted in local jazz combos on the clarinet and saxophone.

One night after a symphony concert, Ponty went to a jazz club with his violin in hand. In due time, his stature as a jazz violinist rose on the Parisian club scene. His abrupt phrasing, drawn from brass and woodwind players in the jazz realm, contrasted with the flowing style of his classical kin.

In 1964 at age 22, Ponty debuted as a solo recording artist with the album Jazz Long Playing on Philips.

Jean-Luc Ponty released his second solo album, Sunday Walk, in 1967 on SABA (Germany) and MPS (Japan).

World Pacific Years

More Than Meets the Ear 

Jean-Luc Ponty released his third solo album, More Than Meets the Ear, in October 1968 on World Pacific Jazz.

Electric Connection

Jean-Luc Ponty released his fourth solo album, Electric Connection, in May 1969 on World Pacific Jazz.

King Kong: Jean-Luc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank Zappa

Jean-Luc Ponty released his fifth solo album, King Kong, in July 1970 on World Pacific Jazz.

Open Strings

Jean-Luc Ponty released his sixth solo album, Open Strings, in 1973 on MPS Records.

Atlantic Years 1975–1985

Upon the Wings of Music

Jean-Luc Ponty released his seventh solo album, Upon the Wings of Music, in June 1975 on Atlantic.


Jean-Luc Ponty released his eighth solo album, Aurora, in March 1976 on Atlantic.

Imaginary Voyage

Jean-Luc Ponty released his ninth solo album, Imaginary Voyage, in November 1976 on Atlantic.

Enigmatic Ocean

Jean-Luc Ponty released his tenth solo album, Enigmatic Ocean, in September 1977 on Atlantic.

Cosmic Messenger

Jean-Luc Ponty released his eleventh solo album, Cosmic Messenger, in August 1978 on Atlantic.


In April 1979, Jean-Luc Ponty released Live, recorded in December 1978 in Los Angeles.

A Taste for Passion

Jean-Luc Ponty released his twelfth solo studio album, A Taste for Passion, in October 1979 on Atlantic.

Civilized Evil

Jean-Luc Ponty released his thirteenth solo album, Civilized Evil, in October 1980 on Atlantic.

Mystical Adventures

Jean-Luc Ponty released his fourteenth solo album, Mystical Adventures, in February 1982 on Atlantic.

Individual Choice

Jean-Luc Ponty released his fifteenth solo album, Individual Choice, in August 1983 on Atlantic.

Open Mind

Jean-Luc Ponty released his sixteenth solo album, Open Mind, in March 1984 on Atlantic.


Jean-Luc Ponty released his seventeenth solo album, Fables, in July 1985 on Atlantic.

The Gift of Time

Jean-Luc Ponty released his eighteenth solo album, The Gift of Time, in October 1987 on Atlantic.


Jean-Luc Ponty released his nineteenth solo album, Storytelling, in 1989 on Atlantic.


  • Jazz Long Playing (1964)
  • Sunday Walk (1967)
  • Humair, Louiss, Ponty: Trio HLP (1968)
  • More Than Meets the Ear (1968)
  • Electric Connection (1969)
  • Jean-Luc Ponty Experience with the George Duke Trio [live] (1969)
  • King Kong: Jean-Luc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank Zappa (1970)
  • Open Strings (1973)
  • Upon the Wings of Music (1975)
  • Aurora (1976)
  • Imaginary Voyage (1976)
  • Enigmatic Ocean (1977)
  • Cosmic Messenger (1978)
  • Live (1979)
  • A Taste for Passion (1979)
  • Civilized Evil (1980)
  • Mystical Adventures (1981)
  • Individual Choice (1983)
  • Open Mind (1984)
  • Fables (1985)
  • The Gift of Time (1987)
  • Storytelling (1989)
  • Tchokola (1991)
  • No Absolute Time (1993)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *