Jabula were a London-based Afro-jazz/funk collective comprised mostly of South African and Ghanaian musicians. The band released five albums between 1975 and 1982. Star saxist Dudu Pukwana played on the first two albums, which were issued on the Caroline-subsidiary of Virgin. Subsequent releases appeared on the band’s eponymous imprint. At the peak of their activity, the band was collectively credited for percussion work on the albums Ommadawn and Incantations by Mike Oldfield.

Members: Julian Bahula (drums, percussion), Busi Mhlongo (vocals), Madumelio Lucky Ranku (guitar), George Lee (saxophone, vocals), Pinise Saul (vocals), Ernest Mothle (bass), Dudu Pukwana (saxophone, 1975-76)

After Jabula folded, percussionist Julian Bahula headed the Jazz Afrika ensemble for one album with assorted Elton Dean/Mike Westbrook backing players.


  • Jabula (1975)
  • Thunder Into Our Hearts (1976)
  • Afrika Awake (1978)
  • In Amsterdam (1978)
  • Jabula With Me (1982)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *