Iggy Pop

Iggy Pop is an American rock singer who rose to infamy as the frontman of proto-punks The Stooges, which released three albums between 1969 and 1973. He launched his solo career in 1977 with The Idiot, recorded in Berlin with David Bowie and containing the cult hits “Nightclubbing” and “China Girl” (later recorded by Bowie).

Later that year, he released Lust for Life, again produced by Bowie with the fan-favorite “The Passenger” (later covered by Siouxsie and the Banshees). After parting company with Bowie, Pop issued the 1979 album New Values, scoring another cult hit with “I’m Bored.” His 1980 release Soldier paired him with ex-Sex Pistols bassist Glen Matlock. The following year’s Party yielded “Bang Bang,” also covered by Bowie. In 1984, he sang the theme song to Repo Man.

Pop re-teamed with Bowie on the 1986 release Blah-Blah-Blah, which spawned the modern-rock hits “Cry for Love,” “Real Wild Child,” and “Isolation.” After pairing with ex-Pistol Steve Jones on his 1988 release Instinct, Pop finally scored a Billboard Top 40 hit with “Candy,” a duet with B-52’s singer Kate Pierson from his 1990 album Brick by Brick.

Pop was born James Newell Osterberg Jr. in Muskegon, Michigan, on April 21, 1947, the son of Louella (née Christensen; 1917–1996) and James Newell Osterberg Sr. (1921–2007).


  • The Idiot (1977)
  • Lust for Life (1977)
  • Kill City (1977 • Iggy Pop & James Williamson
  • TV Eye: 1977 Live (1978)
  • New Values (1979)
  • Soldier (1980)
  • Party (1981)
  • Zombie Birdhouse (1982)
  • Blah-Blah-Blah (1986)
  • Instinct (1988)
  • Brick by Brick (1990)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *