Iceberg was a Spanish symphonic/jazz-rock band that released the 1975 album Tutankhamon on Bocaccio Records. After the departure of singer Ángel Riba, the remaining quartet released the 1976–78 instrumental albums Coses Nostres, Sentiments, and Arc-en-ciel, plus the live disc En Directe. Guitarist Max Sunyer came from Tapiman and launched a solo career while still a member. He and keyboardist Josep Mas later reteamed in the ’80s jazz-rock band Pegasus.

Members: Max Sunyer (guitar), Josep Mas “Kitflus” (keyboards), Primitivo Sancho (bass), Jordi Colomer (drums), Ángel Riba (vocals, saxophone, 1974-76)

The core of Iceberg assembled in 1973 when guitarist Max Sunyer, keyboardist Josep Mas “Kitflus”, bassist Primitivo Sancho, and singer/saxophonist Ángel Riba joined the backing band of Dutch singer Tony Ronald. Sunyer hailed from hard-rockers Tapiman, which cut a self-titled album in 1972. Before that, he cut a single with psychsters Vértice.

In 1974, the now-autonomous quartet added drummer Jordi Colomer, fresh off his stint behind Spanish singer Luis Aguile. As Iceberg, they demoed material for EMI-Odeon and played their first show at L’Hospitalet de Llobregat. They ultimately signed to CFE-subsidiary Bocaccio Records and recorded their debut album at Estudios Kirios, Madrid, in May 1975.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *