Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes were an American soul group from Philadelphia, formed in 1954 as The Blue Notes.

Members: Harold Melvin (lead vocals), Roosevelt Brodie (1954-72), Jesse Gillis, Jr. (1954-72), Franklin Peaker (1954-72), Bernard Williams (1954-65), John Atkins (1965-70), Teddy Pendergrass (lead vocals, drums, 1970-76), Bernie Wilson (1972-77), Larry Brown (1972-1975), Lloyd Parks (1972-74), Jerry Cummings (1974-77), Sharon Paige (1974-80), David Ebo (1977-82), Dwight Johnson (1980), William Spratelly (1980), Gil Saunders (1982-92)

The group formed as The Charlemagnes before renaming themselves The Blue Notes in 1954. They issued three doo wop singles on the New York Josie label in 1956/57, followed by a pair of singles on Val-ue Records in 1960, including the hit “My Hero.” Further singles followed at sporadic intervals on assorted labels between 1961 and 1969, including the 1965 Landa hit “Get Out (and Let Me Cry),” their first release credited as Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes.

After the 1970 departure of singer John Atkins, they moved drummer Teddy Pendergrass to the mic. In 1972, the lineup of Melvin, Pendergrass, Bernard Wilson, Lawrence Brown, and Lloyd Parks signed to Philadelphia International Records. They recorded their first album at Sigma Sound Studios with songwriters Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff at the console.


  • I Miss You (1972)
  • Black & Blue (1973)
  • To Be True (1975)
  • Wake Up Everybody (1975)
  • Reaching for the World (1976)
  • Now Is the Time (1977)
  • The Blue Album (1980)
  • All Things Happen in Time (1981)
  • Talk It Up (Tell Everybody) (1984)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *