Harmonia was a German Krautrock trio that released the 1974–75 albums Musik von Harmonia and Deluxe on Brain. They were a merger of Cluster and NEU! guitarist Michael Rother. In 1976, Brian Eno joined them on sessions that later appeared on the archival disc Tracks & Traces.

Members: Dieter Moebius (synthesizer, guitar, electronic percussion, nagoya harp, vocals), Hans-Joachim Roedelius (organ, piano, guitar, electronic percussion, vocals), Michael Rother (guitar, piano, organ, electronic percussion, vocals), Brian Eno (synthesizer, bass, vocals, 1976)

Harmonia formed in 1973 in Forst, Germany, when the two members of Cluster — Dieter Moebius (1944–2015) and Hans-Joachim Roedelius (b. 1934) — merged with NEU! guitarist Michael Rother (b. 1950).

Cluster hailed from Berlin, where they initially recorded as Kluster with a third member, Conrad Schnitzler, who played on Electronic Meditation, the 1970 debut album by Tangerine Dream. Schnitzler left Moebius and Roedelius after the 1971 Kluster release Zwei-Osterei on Schwann AMS Studio. The duo adopted the C spelling for the 1971 Philips release Cluster and its 1972 Brain followup Cluster II, both produced by Conny Plank.

Rother formed NEU! in 1971 in Düsseldorf with drummer Klaus Dinger. The pair emerged from the first lineup of Kraftwerk, where Dinger remained long enough to play on the 1970 Philips release Kraftwerk. They made the 1972–73 Brain albums Neu! and Neu! 2, both Plank productions.

After the January 1973 release of Neu! 2, Rother sought additional musicians for live performances. He met and jammed with Roedelius and Moebius, who recently located to a farmhouse in Forst in then-West Germany. The two parties discovered their musical synergy with ideas outside the confines of Cluster and NEU! Rother remained in Forst, where the three recorded their first album as Harmonia in their private rural studio.


  • Musik von Harmonia (1974)
  • Deluxe (1975)
  • Tracks & Traces (archival, recorded 1976)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *