Hanson was a London-based funk band that released the 1973–74 albums Now Hear This and Magic Dragon on ELP‘s Manticore label. They featured a multinational lineup of players, mostly from the Greater and Lesser Antilles.

Members: Junior Hanson [aka Junior Marvin] (vocals, guitar), Bobby Tench (guitar, backing vocals), DeLisle Harper (bass), Rebop Kwaku Baah (percussion), Godfrey McLean (drums), Neil Murray (bass), Clive Chaman (bass), Glen LeFleur (drums), Brother James (percussion), Marlo Henderson (guitar), Andre Lewis [aka Mandré] (keyboards), Jean Roussel (keyboards), Conrad Isidore (drums), Jimmy Thomas (backing vocals), Ken Cumberbatch (keyboards), Chris Wood (flute)


Hanson is the middle name of guitarist–singer Junior Marvin: born Donald Hanson Marvin Kerr Richards Jr. on June 22, 1949, in Kingston, Jamaica.

Marvin moved to London as a child and played in a sequence of R&B–beat groups as a teenager. In 1965, he played in Blue Ace Unit with (future Sundae Times) bassist Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuels. He was the third guitarist (after John McLaughlin) in Herbie Goins & The Nighttimers, which briefly featured a teenage Linda Lewis. Marvin and Lewis formed White Rabbit, which collapsed when Linda replaced Diane Ferraz in the Ferris Wheel.

As Junior Kerr, Marvin played on 1970–72 albums by Gass (Juju), Gerry Lockran (Wun), Keef Hartley Band (Seventy Second Brave), and Reebop Kwaku Baah (Reebop).

In February 1973, Marvin recorded the first Hanson album with alumni of Gass, Traffic, and the Reebop sessions. He signed with Manticore, a label established by Emerson Lake & Palmer.



Toots & the Maytals Reggae Got Soul (1976)
Delroy Washington I Sus (1976)
Stomu Yamashta, Steve Winwood, Michael Shrieve Go (1976) credited as Julian Marvin
Steve Winwood Steve Winwood (1977) credited as Junior Hanson or Julian [Jr] Marvin
Burning Spear Hail H.I.M. (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *