Gypsy were an English folk-rock band from Leicester that released two albums on United Artists during 1971 and 1972. The band evolved from pop-psych combo Legay, which issued a single on Fontana in 1968. Drummer David “Moth” Smith later resurfaced in hard-rockers Flicks, which released the album Go For the Effect on Ariola in 1979.

Members: John Knapp (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Robin Pizer (guitar, vocals), Rod Read (guitar, vocals), David McCarthy (bass, vocals), David “Moth” Smith (drums), Ray Martinez (guitar, vocals)


  • Gypsy (1971)
  • Brenda & the Rattlesnake (1972)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *