Eddie Hardin

Eddie Hardin (1949–2015) was an English keyboardist, singer, and songwriter who replaced Steve Winwood in the Spencer Davis Group and teamed with their drummer, Pete York, in the duo Hardin & York. He cut two albums with Axis Point, a blues-rock supergroup formed by FamilyStreetwalkers mainstay Charlie Whitney.

Hardin debuted as a solo artist with the 1972 RCA release Home Is Where You Find It. In 1976, he headed the concept project Wizard’s Convention with members of Deep Purple.

Early Activity

Eddie was born Edward Hardin on February 19, 1949, in London. He first recorded in the mod–beat quartet A Wild Uncertainty with (future Samuel Prody) bassist Tony Savva and (future Andwellas Dream) drummer Gordon Barton.

A Wild Uncertainty signed with Planet Records, the short-lived Philips subsidiary of producer Shel Talmy (The Kinks, The Who, The Creation). Glyn Johns, an early Rolling Stones engineer, earned an early production credit on the 1966 Wild Uncertainty single “A Man With Money” (an Every Brothers cover) backed with “Broken Truth” (a Savva original).

In April 1967, Hardin (then eighteen) joined R&B–beat heavyweights the Spencer Davis Group.

(more to come)


  • Home Is Where You Find It, Decca TXS 106 (1972)
  • Wizard’s Convention, RCA Records (1976)
  • You Can’t Teach an Old Dog New Tricks, Attic LAT 1023 (1977)
  • Circumstantial Evidence, RCA (1982)
  • Eddie Hardin & Zak Starkey’s Musical of Wind in the Willows, President (1985)
  • Dawn ‘Til Dusk, Coda Records (1986)
  • Situations, President PTLS1089 (1987)
  • Survival, Coda Records (1988)
  • Wind in the Willows Live (1992)
  • When We Were Young, in-akustik INAK 11005 (1996)
  • Just Passing Through, self-released (2000)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *