Dün was a French Zeuhl/chamber-rock band that self-released the album Eros in 1981.

Members: François Teillard (guitar), Laurent Bertaud (drums), Pascal Vandenbulcke (flute), Jacques Bretonniere (piano), Michel Blancart (bass), Thierry Tranchant (bass), Philippe Portejoie (saxophone), Jean Geeraerts (guitar), Bruno Sabathe (piano), Alain Termol (percussion), Christian Mellier (bass), Christian Dupont (saxophone)


Dün evolved from Vegetaline Boufiol, a Nantes quintet that included drummer Laurent Bertaud and flutist Pascal Vandenbulcke. In 1978, they changed their name to KAN-DAAR and welcomed guitarist Jean Geeraerts, pianist Bruno Sabathe, bassist Thierry Tranchant, and saxophonist Philippe Portejoie. Their chief influences were Frank Zappa, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Henry Cow, and Magma.

Later that year, they changed their name to Dune, taken from the 1965 sci-fi novel by American author Frank Herbert. They captured two originals on tape: “Eros” (7:16, Geeraerts) and “Arrakis” (5:12, Vandenbulcke), the latter named after the desert planet where the events of Dune take place.

In 1979, they modified their name to Dün and recorded another Vandenbulcke composition, “Bitonio” (10:24). They toured the Nantes region with popular rock bands of the day (Telephone, Little Bob Story) as well as two acts involved in the Cow-arranged collective dubbed Rock In Opposition: Art Zoyd and Etron Fou LeLoublan. Dün were briefly in talks to join the RIO collective.

Vandenbulcke built an instrument he called the gruyérophone: a square-shaped bell with bits of Swiss cheese, attached to a tuba mouthpiece. Meanwhile, Portejoie left Dün, which added percussionist Alain Termol. In 1981, the band self-financed sessions for an album, recorded at Etienne Conod’s Sunrise studio in Kirchberg, Switzerland.


In 1981, Dun self-released their singular album Eros. They pressed 1,000 copies of the album and sold them at gigs. The album contains the recent Geeraerts composition “L’Epice” (9:20) and time-altered versions of their pre-demoed pieces “Arrakis” (9:35) and “Bitonio” (7:10). The 10-minute re-recording of “Eros” is titled “Eros-Érosion.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *