Drops was a Danish jazz-rock band that released a self-titled album on Hookfarm in 1976.

Members: Jesper Nehammer (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone), Poul Freiber (guitar), Henrik Langkilde (electric piano, synthesizer), Peter Ingemann (bass guitar), Jesper Thorup (drums)

Drops was assembled at the height of the jazz-rock boom by some of Denmark’s most seasoned musicians. Keyboardist Henrik Langkilde and saxophonist Jesper Nehammer hailed from Thors Hammer, which issued a popular album in 1971. Bassist Peter Ingemann had been in numerous groups, including Peter Thorup With Friends and Musikpatruljen.

Drops recorded and self-produced their singular album on December 2–4, 1975, at Copenhagen’s Werner Studios with engineering by namesake Werner Scherrer. The album features six originals, including “Alle Gode Gange Tre,” “Minitrans,” and “Omkring et Trommeslag.” It was released on local-press Hookfarm, which also issued albums Natdamperen, Himmelexpressen, Buki Yamaz, and Fred Israel.

At the same time as Drops, Nehammer played guest solos on 1976 tracks by Heavy Joker, Bifrost, and Buki Yamaz. He subsequently recorded with Entrance, Aske Bentzon, and Anne Grete, among others. Drummer Jesper Thorup resurfaced in the bands Aorta and Brongl and became a prolific sessionist. Guitarist Poul Freiber played on numerous Danish pop recordings from the late ’70s onwards.


  • Drops (1976)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *