Dionysos were a Québécois hard-rock/psych band that released the album Le Grand Jeu on Jupiter in 1971, followed by Le Prince Croule on Les Disques Zodiaque in 1972. The band split in 1974, only to regroup for a self-titled album on Deram in 1976. Bandleader Paul-André Thibert subsequently appropriated the nameplate for his 1978 solo album.

Members: Paul-André Thibert (lead vocals, flute, harmonica), Philippe Bech (flute, keyboards, 1969-74), Robert Lepage (drums, percussion, vocals), Eric Clément (guitar), Jean Pierre Legault (bass, 1969-74), André Mathieu (Hammond organ), Fernand Durand (bass, percussion, vocals, 1976), Jean-Pierre Forget (saxophone, flute, Rhodes, 1976)


  • Le Grand Jeu (1971)
  • Le Prince Croule (1972)
  • Dionysos (1976)
  • Musique de mes amis Dionysos (1978 • Paul-André Thibert)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *