Delta 5

Delta 5 was an English post-punk band that released three 1979–80 Rough Trade singles and the 1981 album See the Whirl.

Members: Bethan Peters (bass, vocals), Ros Allen (bass, vocals), Julz Sale (vocals, guitar, 1978-81), Kelvin Knight (drums, 1979-1981), Alan Riggs (guitar, 1979-81), Jacqui Callis (vocals, guitar, 1981-82), Graeme Haigh (drums, 1981-82)


Delta 5 formed in early 1979 at Leeds University when guitarist–singer Julz Sale teamed with two bassist classmates, Ros Allen and Bethan Peters. They soon added drummer Kelvin Knight and guitarist Alan Riggs of unsigned locals the Dead Beats. The London indie label Rough Trade added Delta 5 to its growing roster of post-punk talent.

First Three Singles

In October 1979, Delta 5 debuted with the single “Mind Your Own Business” backed with “Now That You’ve Gone,” both co-produced by the band and Gang of Four manager Rob Warr.

A. “Mind Your Own Business” (3:13)
B. “Now That You’ve Gone” (4:13)

Delta 5 recorded the single at London’s Workhouse Studios, where Mekons guitarist Jon Langford  provided auxiliary musicianship and provided the green–black sleeve illustration, which presents the song words and member credits in a dense cluster of line art.

On February 4, 1980, Delta five performed their first of two sessions for BBC Radio 1 DJ John Peel. The five-song session (“Delta 5,” “Colour,” “Make Up,” “Anticipation,” “You”) aired on February 11 and re-aired four times between March and December.

In May 1980, Delta 5 released their second single: “You” backed with “Anticipation,” both co-produced by Warr and co-written between he band, Langford, and drummer Simon Best of Scottish post-punk Flowers.

A. “You” (3:51)
B. “Anticipation” (2:11)

Langford illustrated the magenta–white “You” sleeve in the same style as its predecessor with ‘etched’ doodles and words, including eight instances of the name Delta 5.

On September 2, Delta 5 performed four songs (“Triangle,” “Journey,” “Try,” “Leaving”) for their second Peel session (aired 9/11/80).

In November 1980, Delta 5 released their third single: “Try” backed with “Colour.”

A. “Try” (3:05)
B. “Colour” (2:03)

See the Whirl

Delta 5 released their singular album, See the Whirl, in 1981 on Pre. It contains a re-recording of their second b-side “Anticipation” and their four a-side “Shadow,” plus twelve exclusive originals.

A1. “Innocenti” (2:03)
A2. “Final Scene” (2:42)
A3. “Circuit” (1:59)
A4. “Open Life” (3:39)
A5. “Trail” (2:57)
A6. “Shadow” (2:30)
A7. “Delta 5” (2:05)
A8. “Anticipation” (2:14)
B1. “Journey” (2:54)
B2. “Make Up” (2:51)
B3. “Triangle” (3:34)
B4. “Waiting” (2:29)
B5. “Telephone” (4:23)
B6. “Different Fur” (2:40)

Michael McEvoy – piano, horn arrangements
Melv Jefferson – backing vocals
B.J. Cole – pedal steel guitar on “Triangle”
John Sidwell, Steve Bishop, Steve Sidwell – horns
Adam Kidron – producer

Delta 5 lifted “Shadow” as a single backed with the non-album “Leaving.”

B. “Leaving” (2:45)

On August 13, 1982, Delta 5 released their final single: “Powerlines” backed with “The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter.”

A. “Powerlines” (3:12)
B. “The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter” (3:09)


  • “Mind Your Own Business” / “Now That You’ve Gone” (1979)
  • “Anticipation” / “You” (1980)
  • “Colour” / “Try” (1980)
  • See the Whirl (1981)
  • “Shadow” / “Leaving” (1981)
  • “Powerlines” / “The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter” (1982)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *