Cressida was an English post-psych band that released the albums Cressida and Asylum on the Vertigo “swirl” label in 1970/71.

Members: Peter Jennings (organ, Mellotron, harpsichord, piano), Angus Cullen (vocals, guitar), Kevin McCarthy (bass), Iain Clark (drums), John Heyworth (guitar, 1969-70), John Culley (guitar, 1970)


Cressida formed in 1968 in London. The members hailed from minor-league beat and psych outfits. Notably, drummer Iain Clark was in the unrecorded band Mustard and also taught percussion.

Cressida and Asylum

Cressida released their self-titled debut album on Vertigo in 1970. It features 12 originals, including “Time for Bed,” “Cressida,” “The Only Earthman In Town,” and “To Play Your Little Game.” The album was produced by Ossie Byrne (Bee Gees, Eclection) and engineered by Robin Thompson (The Moody Blues, King Crimson, Brainchild, Web/Samurai). The title-track was issued as a single, backed with “Down Down.” Guitarist John Heyworth left after the album’s release.

Cressida’s second Vertigo release, Asylum, appeared in 1971. It features eight songs, including “Survivor,” “Goodbye Post Office Tower Goodbye,” and the nine-minute string-laden epic “Munich.” John Culley assumes the guitar role and flutist Harold McNair guests on several tracks. Orchestral arrangements were conducted by Graeme Hall (Marvin Welch & Farrar, Olivia Newton-John).

Culley went on to a brief stint in psychsters Black Widow. Clark sat in on Uriah Heep for their 1971 release Look at Yourself. Bassist Kevin McCarthy contributed to the second album by rustic-rockers Tranquility.

Keyboardist Peter Jennings later cut a single with Jabberwock (1977) and recorded the split-single b-side “Floor Show at Dzerzhinsky’s” (1982). In the 2000s, he resurfaced in goth-rockers The Ghost of Lemora.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *