Crack the Sky

Crack the Sky were an American hard-rock/art-rock band that released five studio albums and a live disc on Lifesong between 1975 and 1981, followed with two titles apiece on Criminal and Grudge during the remainder of the 1980s.

Members: Rick Witkowski (guitar, keyboards, 1975-78, 1980, 1986-2003, 2007-present), Joey D’Amico (drums, vocals, 1975-78, 1986-96, 2008-present), Joe Macre (bass, vocals, 1975-78, 2007-2014), Jim Griffiths (guitar, 1975-78), John Palumbo (lead vocals, guitar, bass guitar, drums, 1975-77, 1980-present), Vince DePaul (keyboards, 1977-78, 1986-96), Gary Lee Chappell (lead vocals, 1977-78), Barry Siegfried (guitar, 1977), Rob Stevens (piano, synthesizer, 1978), Carey Ziegler (bass, 1981-84, 1986-87, 1990-2007), John Tracey (drums, 1981-84, 1996-2008), Michael Taylor (guitar, 1981), Bobby Hird (guitar, 1982-84, 1986-87, 1996-present), Jamie LaRitz (guitar, effects, 1985-86)

Crack the Sky had its roots in two unrecorded east coast bands, Uncle Louie and Sugar. Uncle Louie featured guitarist/keyboardist Rick Witkowski and singer, multi-instrumentalist, and songwriter John Palumbo. Sugar featured guitarist Jim Griffiths and bassist Joe Macre.

Palumbo and Witkowski auditioned for a representative of CashWest Productions, who connected them with like-minded musicians. This led to a 10-piece band, Words, that soon paired down to five members: Palumbo, Witkowski, Griffiths, Macre, and drummer Joey D’Amico. In 1975, they became the inaugural signing on CashWest’s newly formed Lifesong label as Crack the Sky.


  • Crack the Sky (1975)
  • Animal Notes (1976)
  • Safety in Numbers (1978)
  • White Music (1980)
  • Photoflamingo (1981)
  • The End (1983)
  • World in Motion 1 (1983)
  • Raw (1987)
  • From the Greenhouse (1989)
  • Dog City (1990)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *