Cox Orange

Cox Orange were a Danish jazz-rock band that released two albums on Amar between 1978 and 1980, followed by a third on Rosen in 1984. Drummer Ethan Weisgard appeared on two albums apiece with Dr. Dopo Jam and Buki-Yamaz. Guitarist Flemming Ostermann hailed from the original lineup of Savage Rose.

Members: Morten Elbek (alto saxophone), Anders Gårdmand (baritone saxophone, tenor saxophone), Holger Laumann (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone), Niels Mathiasen (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone), Finn Gustafsson (guitar), Flemming Ostermann (guitar), Karsten Simonsen (keyboards), Peter Danstrup (bass), Ethan Weisgard (drums), Birger “Krølle” Sulsbrück (congas, percussion)

The nucleus of Cox Orange came together when Weisgard and Ostermann met up with keyboardist Karsten Simonsen during a one-album stint in the folk act Oktober. The three assembled a 10-piece band for Cox Orange, recorded in late 1977 and released in 1978. The album features nine originals, including the highlights “Svend Age”, “Dedication to Ironside”, “Rush Hour”, and “Always Public.”

In 1980, the band issued 2, alternately known as Cox Orange 2. It features a cover of the Lennon/McCartney composition “Good Day Sunshine” along with 10 originals, including “Soulskin” and “(Dedication to) Elisabeth.”

After going inactive for several years, the band returned as a seven-piece for the 1984 release Move Your Feet.


  • Cox Orange (1978)
  • Cox Orange 2 (1980)
  • Move Your Feet (1984)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *