Count Five

The Count Five was an American garage-rock band that released the 1966 album Psychotic Reaction on Double Shot, followed by four 1967–69 singles. They are best-known for their Billboard Top 5 hit “Psychotic Reaction,” a Yardbirds-style fuzz rocker that appears on numerous psych and proto-punk comps.

Members: Craig Atkinson (drums), Sean Byrne (vocals, rhythm guitar), Roy Chaney (bass), Kenn Ellner (vocals, harmonica, tambourine), John Michalski (lead guitar)

Count Five formed in 1964 in San Jose, California.


  • Psychotic Reaction (1966)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *