City Boy

City Boy were an English art-rock sextet from Birmingham that released seven albums on Vertigo between 1976 and 1981. The band was noted for its theatrical stage shows and harmonized, multisectional material. Their first five albums were produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange, who developed his later-famous surround-sound techniques while working with the band.

Members: Lol Mason (vocals), Mike Slamer (guitar, bass), Max Thomas (keyboards), Roy Ward (drums, vocals), Steve Broughton (vocals, acoustic guitar), Chris Dunn (bass), Roger Kent (drums)

City Boy evolved from a boyhood friendship between singer Lol Mason and singer/acoustic guitarist Steve Broughton. They met as children and became songwriting partners while attending separate boarding schools in 1960s Birmingham. In the early 1970s, the pair formed the folk four-piece Back In the Band with local ragtime guitarist Chris Dunn and Mason’s old school friend Max Thomas, who initially played 12-string and bongos.

After some time on the Midlands pub circuit, they added guitarist Mike Slamer and drummer Roger Kent. Dunn and Thomas switched to bass and keyboards, respectively. The now six-piece band renamed itself City Boy and developed a theatrical stage act with a musical mix of folk, funk, and hard-rock. In 1975, they signed to Phonogram’s Vertigo subsidiary and linked with producer Robert John Lange. The first fruits of this union was the single “Shake My Head and Leave” (b/w “Teleulah”), released in several territories late that year.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *