Cirkus was an English symphonic-rock band from Newcastle upon Tyne that released the album One on self-press RCB (Projects) Ltd. in 1973. The band morphed into Future Shock for a second album in 1977.

Members: Stuart McDade (drums, percussion, backing vocals), Derek G. Miller (organ, piano, Mellotron), John Taylor (bass), Dog (guitar), Paul Robson (vocals, ?-1975), Alan Roadhouse (vocals, 1975-?)


Cirkus formed in 1971 in Sunderland in Tyne and Wear when drummer Stuart McDade, keyboardist Derek Miller, and bassist John Taylor (all songwriters) enlisted guitarist Dogg and singer Paul Robson. That year, they made a four-track recording of two originals, “Castles” and “The Heaviest Stone.”

1973: One

In 1973, Cirkus issued One on two-press RCB in a quantity of 1,000 copies. Side one features five songs, including “April ’73,” “You Are,” “Song for Tavish,” and “A Prayer.” The second side contains four tracks, including “Brotherly Love” and the epic “Title Track: i) Breach ii) Ad Infinitum.”

McDade composed all the numbers except “April ’73” (Miller) and “Seasons” (Taylor). String arrangements on select tracks were conducted by Tony Hymas (Lynsey De Paul, Jeff Beck, Ph D, Jack Bruce).

One was produced by Ron Richards (The Hollies, Spencer Davis Group, Prelude) and engineered by John Etchells (Glaxo Babies, Killing Joke, Atomsko Sklonište). The album art, credited to one P. Linard, shows an entwined male nude emerge from a cracked, cloud-swirled Earth. 

Also in 1973, Cirkus issued the non-album single “Ain’t That Wild” (b/w “You”).

1976/77: Melissa, Future Shock

Cirkus continued with no immediate followup recordings. By 1976, Robson cleared out for singer Alan Roadhouse. This lineup recorded three new McDade originals: “Melissa,” “Pickupaphone,” and “Amsterdam.” They comprised the Melissa EP, released that year on Guardian Records N’ Tapes.

In 1977, Cirkus toured as the pit band for a theatrical production called Future Shock. An album of the same name with songs from the musical appeared that year on Shock Records. The songs are credited to the two lead vocalists in the production: Linda Garbet and Lionel Gibson (ex-Fat Grapple).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *