CANO — aka Coopérative des Artistes du Nouvel-Ontario — were a French-Canadian symphonic-folk collective from Sadbury in Northern-Ontario. The band released four albums on A&M between 1976 and 1979, followed by a fifth album on Ready Records in 1985.

Members: Marcel Aymar (lead vocals, acoustic guitar), David Burt (electric guitar, acoustic guitar), Michel Dasti (drums, percussion), John Doerr (electric bass, trombone, synthesizer), Michel Kendel (vocals, keyboards, piano, Fender Rhodes, electric guitar), André Paiement (vocals, guitar, 1975-78), Rachel Paiement (lead vocals, acoustic guitar, 1975-80), Wasyl Kohut (violin, 1975-81)


  • Tous dans l’même bateau (1976)
  • Au nord de notre vie (1977)
  • Eclipse (1978)
  • Rendezvous (1979)
  • Visible (1984)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *