Bow Wow Wow

Bow Wow Wow was an English new wave band that released two proper albums and assorted singles between 1980 and 1983 on EMI and RCA. They courted fame and infamy with a string of tribal-rhythmic hits (“I Want Candy,” “Baby Oh No”) and a series of promo stunts involving then-teenage vocalist Annabella Lwin. The other members hailed from Adam and the Ants, who also used the Burundian drum style in a series of pop hits.

Members: Annabella Lwin [Annabella] (vocals), Matthew Ashman (guitar), Leigh Gorman (bass), Dave Barbarossa (drums)


Bow Wow Wow was plucked from an early formation of Adam and the Ants. In early 1980, former Sex Pistols manager Malcolm McLaren persuaded three Ants — guitarist Matthew Ashman, bassist Leigh Gorman, and drummer Dave Barbarossa — to leave Adam and form a new band under his guidance.

Ashman and Barbarossa played on the Ants’ 1979 debut album Dirk Wears White Sox. Gorman hailed from the unrecorded 57 Men with singer Glenn Gregory (later Heaven 17) and the future core of Wang Chung. He joined the Ants just after the White Sox sessions.

After six months of vocalist auditions, an associate caught the voice of a young laundromat worker, Annabella Lwin, as she sang on shift. Upon hearing the discovery, McLaren added her to the band. Lwin (born Myant Myant Aye in Burma on October 31, 1966) was only 13 at the time. Blitz scenester George O’Dowd also joined Bow Wow Wow as second vocalist under the alias Lieutenant Lush, but left soon after due to conflicts with other members. (He soon formed Culture Club and shot to fame as Boy George.)


“C·30 C·60 C·90 Go!”

In July 1980, Bow Wow Wow signed to EMI and released their first single, “C·30 C·60 C·90 Go!” (UK #34). It was issued on cassette-only (b/w “Sun, Sea and Piracy”). The label balked at the song’s lyrics, which seemed to encourage home-taping, a then-controversial issue in the music industry. Both songs are credited to the male members, plus McLaren.

A. “C’30, C’60, C’90 Go” ()
B. “Sun Sea and Piracy” ()

Bow Wow Wow cut a Peel Session (10/20/80) performing “I Want My Baby on Mars,” “Fools Rush In,” “Radio G String,” and “Uomosex Al Apache.”

Your Cassette Pet

In November 1980, they issued Your Cassette Pet, a cassette-only mini-album with nine songs, including the numbers from the Peel broadcast plus “Louis Quatorze,” “Gold He Said,” and “Giant Sized Baby Thing.” The track “Sexy Eiffel Towers” aroused controversy because of its suggestive moaning, performed by then 14-year-old Lwin.

1. “Louis Quatorze” (2:39)
2. “Gold He Said” (2:05)
3. “Uomo Sex Al Apache” (3:11)
4. “I Want My Baby on Mars” (2:24)

5. “Sexy Eiffel Tower” (2:25)
6. “Giant Sized Baby Thing” (2:21)
7. “Fools Rush In” (2:11)
8. “Radio G String” (2:41)

Producer Bow Wow Wow Malcolm McLaren
Pat Stapley – engineer

A: Louis Quatorze
B: Fools Rush In


“W.O.R.K. (N.O. Nah, No No My Daddy Don’t)”

On March 6, 1981, Bow Wow Wow written “W.O.R.K. (N.O. Nah, No No My Daddy Don’t),” their final release on EMI.

A. “W.O.R.K. (N.O. Nah NO! NO! My Daddy Don’t)
B. “C-30, C-60, C-90 ANDA!”

“Prince of Darkness”

On July 31, 1981, Bow Wow Wow released their third standalone single: “Prince of Darkness” backed with “Orangutang,” both group-written by the full band (Lwin included) and McLaren.

A. “Prince of Darkness” ()
B. “Orangutang” ()

See Jungle! See Jungle!

Bow Wow Wow released their first proper album, See Jungle! See Jungle! Go Join Your Gang Yeah, City All Over! Go Ape Crazy!, on October 16, 1981, on RCA.

1. “Jungle Boy” (2:47)
2. “Chihuahua” Alan Tarney 4:15)
3. “Sinner, Sinner, Sinner” (2:23)
4. “Mickey Put It Down” (3:03)
5. “(I’m a) T.V. Savage” (2:40)
6. “Elimination Dancing” (3:04)

7. “Golly! Golly! Go Buddy!” (2:38)
8. “King Kong” (2:20)
9. “Go Wild in the Country” (2:44)
10. “I’m Not a Know It All” (2:54)
11. “Why Are Babies So Wise?” (2:55)
12. “Orang-Outang” (2:44)
13. “Hello, Hello Daddy (I’ll Sacrifice You)” (4:28)

Producer – Bow Wow Wow, Alan Tarney, Brian Tench, Colin Thurston
Nick Egan – design
Andy Earl – photography after Édouard Manet’s Le Déjeuner sur l’herbe

23 Oct 1981
A. Chihuahua
B. Golly! Golly! Go Buddy!


In January 1981, “Go Wild In the Country” became the second See Jungle single, backed with the non-album “El Boss Dicho.”

B: “El Boss Dicho” ()

“See Jungle! (Jungle Boy)”

On April 16, 1982, Bow Wow Wow released the standalone single “See Jungle! (Jungle Boy)” backed with “(I’m a) TV Savage.”

A. “See Jungle! (Jungle Boy)” ()
B. “(I’m a) TV Savage” ()

The Last of the Mohicans

In May 1982, Bow Wow Wow released the EP The Last of the Mohicans.

1. “I Want Candy” (2:43)
2. “Cowboy” (3:30)

3. “Louis Quatorze” (2:48)
4. “Mile High Club” (3:26)

“I Want Candy” appeared simultaneously as a 7″ single backed with the exclusive :King Kong.”

B. “King Kong” ()

23 Jul 1982
A: Louis Quatorze (Re-Recorded)
B: Mile High Club

I Want Candy

In May 1982, RCA issued the Bow Wow Wow compilation I Want Candy.

1. “I Want Candy” 2:43
2. “Baby, Oh No” 2:44
3. “Louis Quatorze” 2:48
4. “Cowboy” 3:30
5. “Mile High Club” 3:26

6. “Go Wild in the Country” 5:21
7. “Jungle Boy” 5:12
8. “El Bosso Dicho” 2:10
9. “(I’m a) T.V. Savage” 2:35
10. “King Kong” 2:18

A. Baby, Oh No
B. Cowboy

17 Sep 1982
A: Fools Rush In
B: Sex (Instrumental)


When the Going Gets Tough, The Tough Get Going

Bow Wow Wow released their second proper studio album, When the Going Gets Tough, The Tough Get Going, in February 1983 on RCA.

1. “Aphrodisiac” (2:58)
2. “Do You Wanna Hold Me?” (3:14)
3. “Roustabout” (2:20)
4. “Lonesome Tonight” (2:47)
5. “Love Me” (3:28)
6. “What’s the Time (Hey Buddy)” (3:06)

7. “Mario (Your Own Way to Paradise)” (2:54)
8. “Quiver (Arrows in My)” (3:14)
9. “The Man Mountain” (2:26)
10. “Rikki Dee” (3:02)
11. “Tommy Tucker” (2:44)
12. “Love, Peace and Harmony” (2:50)

Studio Basing Street, London
Producer Mike Chapman

A. Do You Wanna Hold Me?
B. What’s The Time (Hey Buddy)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *