Bootsy’s Rubber Band

Bootsy’s Rubber Band were an American funk band from Detroit that released four albums on Warner Bros. between 1976 and 1979. The band was headed by namesake bassist Bootsy Collins, a Parliament mainstay who also played with James Brown, Funkadelic, and Parlet during the 1970s.

Members: Bootsy Collins (bass, vocals, guitar, percussion), Catfish Collins (guitar, vocals), Frank Waddy (drums, percussion, vocals), Joel Johnson (keyboards, vocals), Gary “Mudbone” Cooper, (vocals, percussion), Robert “P-Nut” Johnson (vocals), Bernie Worrell (keyboards), Garry Shider (guitar), Michael Hampton (guitar), Cordell Mosson (drums), Maceo Parker (saxophone), Fred Wesley (trombone), Richard Griffith [aka Kush] (trumpet), Michael Brecker (saxophone), Randy Brecker (trumpet), Rick Gardner


  • Stretchin’ Out in Bootsy’s Rubber Band (1976)
  • Ahh…The Name Is Bootsy, Baby! (1977)
  • Bootsy? Player of the Year (1978)
  • This Boot Is Made for Fonk-N (1979)
  • Live in Louisville 1978 (1999)
  • Live in Oklahoma 1976 (2001)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *