Bobby Caldwell

Bobby Caldwell (born Aug. 15, 1951) is an American blue-eyed soul vocalist and songwriter from N.Y.C. who released two albums on T.K.-subsidiary Clouds between 1978 and 1980, followed by a second pair of albums on Polydor in 1982/83. After a number of years behind the scenes, he issued six discs on Sin-Drome Records between 1989 and 1999.

Solo Career

Bobby Caldwell released his self-titled debut album in 1978. It was produced by Ann Holloway with backing by keyboardist Benny Latimore, bassist George “Chocolate” Perry, drummer Ed Greene, and guitarist Alfons Kettner. Highlights of the album include “Down For the Third Time,” “Special to Me,” “Love Won’t Wait,” and “Can’t Say Goodbye.” The Kettner-co-write “What You Won’t Do For Love” became a hit for the singer.

Caldwell’s second album for Clouds, Cat in the Hat, appeared in 1980. Perry and Greene are retained with production handled by Steve Kimball. Highlights of the album include “Coming Down from Love,” “To Know What You’ve Got,” and “Open Your Eyes.”

Caldwell moved to Polydor for his third album, 1982’s Carry On. Highlights of the album include “Catwalk,” “All of My Love,” and “Jamaica.”

Other Appearances



  • Bobby Caldwell (1978)
  • Cat in the Hat (1980)
  • Carry On (1982)
  • August Moon (1983)
  • Heart of Mine (1989)
  • Stuck on You (1991)
  • Where Is Love (1993)
  • Soul Survivor (1995)
  • Blue Condition (1996)
  • Come Rain or Come Shine (1999)
  • Perfect Island Nights (2005)
  • Live at the Blue Note Tokyo (2007)
  • House of Cards (2012)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *