Blue Öyster Cult

Blue Öyster Cult are an American hard-rock band from Long Island that released eleven studio albums and three live sets between 1972 and 1988 on Columbia.

Members: Eric Bloom (guitar, vocals), Buck Dharma (lead guitar, vocals), Allen Lanier (rhythm guitar, keyboards, bass, 1970-85, 1987-2007), Albert Bouchard (drums, guitar, vocals, 1970-81), Joe Bouchard (bass, vocals, 1970-86), Rick Downey (drums, 1981-85), Thommy Price (drums, 1985), Tommy Zvonchek (keyboards, 1985-86), Jimmy Wilcox (drums, vocals, 1985-86), Jon Rogers (bass, 1986-95), Ron Riddle (drums, 1987-91)


Blue Öyster Cult formed as Soft White Underbelly, a garage-psych band assembled in 1967 by Stony Brook University students Donald Roeser (guitar, vocals), Allen Lanier (keyboards), Andrew Winters (bass), and Albert Bouchard (drums). At this early stage, they also featured singer Jeff Kagel, who later found success as Hindu devotional singer Krishna Das.

While jamming one night at their campus communal house, they were overheard by rock writer Sandy Pearlman, who offered to be their manager. Another Stony Brook music writer, Richard Meltzer, provided the band with lyrics. After Pearlman secured them a deal with Elektra, Soft White Underbelly recorded an album’s worth of material in 1968. Their lead vocalist at this time, Les Braunstein, left soon after it was recorded, prompting Elektra to shelve the album.

Eric Bloom, first employed as their sound engineer, was hired as their new lead singer. As their live act faltered, Pearlman changed their name to Oaxaca, then to Stalk-Forrest Group. He also gave each member a stagename: Buck Dharma (Roeser), Jesse Python (Bloom), Andy Panda (Winters), Prince Omega (Bouchard), La Verne (Lanier). Only Roeser would keep his stagename.

In 1970, the band recorded another album for Elektra, but the only release at this time was the single “What Is Quicksand?” (b/w “Arthur Comics”). (The album was later released as St. Cecilia: The Elektra Recordings in 2001 on Rhino Handmade Records.) Pearlman changed their name again, this time to Blue Öyster Cult, taken from one of his poems about a group of aliens who guide the history of the Earth. Winters cleared way for Albert’s bassist brother Joe Bouchard.

The renamed band was spotted by producer David Lucas, who cut demos of their newer hard rock material. Pearlman took these tapes to Columbia, which signed the band in 1971. That October, they entered Lucas’ eight-track studio to cut their first album.

Blue Öyster Cult

Blue Öyster Cult released their self-titled debut album on January 16, 1972, on Columbia.

Tyranny and Mutation

Blue Öyster Cult released their second album, Tyranny and Mutation, in February 1973 on Columbia.

Secret Treaties

Blue Öyster Cult released their third album, Secret Treaties, on April 5, 1974, on Columbia.

On Your Feet or on Your Knees

In February 1975, Blue Öyster Cult released On Your Feet or on Your Knees, a live double-album sourced from their October 1974 tour.

Agents of Fortune

Blue Öyster Cult released their fourth album, Agents of Fortune, on May 21, 1976, on Columbia.


Blue Öyster Cult released their fifth album, Spectres, in November 1977 on Columbia.

Some Enchanted Evening

In September 1978, Blue Öyster Cult released Some Enchanted Evening, a live album sourced from recent shows in the US South and England.


Blue Öyster Cult released their sixth album, Mirrors, on June 19, 1979, on Columbia.

Cultösaurus Erectus

Blue Öyster Cult released their seventh album, Cultösaurus Erectus, in June 1980 on Columbia.

Fire of Unknown Origin

Blue Öyster Cult released their eighth album, Fire of Unknown Origin, on June 22, 1981, on Columbia.

Extraterrestrial Live

In April 1982, Blue Öyster Cult released Extraterrestrial Live, a live double-album sourced from their 1980–81 US tours.

The Revölution by Night

Blue Öyster Cult released their ninth album, The Revölution by Night, on November 8, 1983, on Columbia.


  • Blue Öyster Cult (1972)
  • Tyranny and Mutation (1973 • The Blue Öyster Cult)
  • Secret Treaties (1974)
  • On Your Feet or on Your Knees (live 2LP, 1975)
  • Agents of Fortune (1976)
  • Spectres (1977)
  • Some Enchanted Evening (live, 1978)
  • Mirrors (1979)
  • Cultösaurus Erectus (1980)
  • Fire of Unknown Origin (1981)
  • Extraterrestrial Live (live 2LP, 1982)
  • The Revölution by Night (1983)
  • Club Ninja (1986)
  • Imaginos (1988)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *