Atlanta Rhythm Section

The Atlanta Rhythm Section was an American southern-rock/boogie band that released two albums on Decca/MCA in 1972/73, followed by seven albums and a live disc on Polydor between 1974 and 1980. Their popularity peaked with the 1977/78 albums A Rock and Roll Alternative and Champagne Jam and the hits “So Into You” and “Imaginary Lover.”

Members: Dean Daughtry (keyboards, vocals), Barry Bailey (guitar, 1971-2006), Paul Goddard (bass, 1971-83, 2011-14), Robert Nix (drums, 1971-78), Rodney Justo (lead vocals, 1971-72, 1983, 2011-present), J.R. Cobb (guitar, 1972-86), Ronnie Hammond (lead vocals, 1972-83, 1988-2001), Roy Yeager (drums, 1978-83), Tommy Stribling (bass, 1983-88), Keith Hamrick (drums, percussion, 1983-87), Andy Anderson (lead vocals, 1983-85, 1986-87, 2001-2011), Danny Biget (drums, 1983-84), Jeff Logan (lead vocals, 1985), Steve Stone (guitar, vocals, 1986-present), Sean Burke (drums, 1987-95), Shaun Williamson (lead vocals, 1987-88)

The Atlanta Rhythm Section had its roots in The Candymen, a pop-psych quintet that included singer Rodney Justo, drummer Robert Nix, and keyboardist Dean Daughtry. They released two albums on ABC in 1967/68 and charted with “Georgia Pines” and “Ways.” When Floridian balladeers Classix IV lost their keyboardist after charting with “Spooky,” Daughtry joined and played on their 1968/69 hits “Stormy” and “Traces.”

In the spring of 1970, Justo and Nix reteamed with Daughtry at the newly opened Studio One in Doraville, Georgia, where they formed a session band with Classix IV guitarist James B. Cobb. Assorted members played on numerous albums over the next two years, including titles by country rocker Richard Supa and Christian singer Mylon LeFevre. Daughtry briefly joined LeFevre’s mononymic five-piece Mylon, which also featured guitarist Barry Bailey.

In 1971, Bailey and Daughtry, along with Cobb, Nix, and bassist Paul Goddard, played on the Paramount Records release Supa’s Jamboree. By the time of its 1972 followup, Homespun, Supa’s backing band was identified collectively as the Atlanta Rhythm Section, “Courtesy of Decca Records,” which signed the band and issued their self-titled debut album that same year.


  • Atlanta Rhythm Section (1972)
  • Back Up Against the Wall (1973)
  • Third Annual Pipe Dream (1974)
  • Dog Days (1975)
  • Red Tape (1976)
  • A Rock and Roll Alternative (1977)
  • Champagne Jam (1978)
  • Underdog (1979)
  • Are You Ready! (live, 1979)
  • The Boys From Doraville (1980)
  • Quinella (1981)
  • Truth in a Structured Form (1989)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *