Art Zoyd

Art Zoyd were a French avant-garde/chamber-rock ensemble that was active from the dawn of the 1970s through the early 21st century. Between 1976 and 1987, the band released seven albums of original material. During the 1990s, they sporadically issued soundtracks.

Members: Rocco Fernandez (guitar, vocals, 1969-75), Patrick Zoltek (guitar, 1969-71), Jean-Paul Dulion (bass, 1969-71), Claude Asencio (drums, 1969-71), Thierry Zaboitzeff (cello, bass, keyboards, 1971-97), Jean-Pierre Soarez (trumpet, percussion, 1971-85), Gérard Hourbette (violin, viola, tapes, electronics, keyboards, 1971-present), Alain Eckert (guitar, 1976-81), Patricia Dallio (piano, keyboards, 1979-2009), Michel Berckmans (bassoon, oboe, 1979-81), Daniel Denis (percussion, 1980-81), Didier Pietton (saxophone, 1981-85), André Mergenthaler (cello, 1986-89)

Art Zoyd was formed in 1969 by guitarist and singer Rocco Fernandez. In 1971, they issued the psych-rock single “Sangria” (b/w “Something In Love”) on small-press Opaline. That same year, violinist Gérard Hourbette and cellist Thierry Zaboïtzeff joined the band. After the 1975 departure of Fernandez, Art Zoyd settled into its drummerless chamber-rock configuration with Hourbette, Zaboitzeff, trumpeter Jean-Pierre Soarez, and guitarist Alain Eckert.


  • “Sangria”, single (1971)
  • Symphonie pour le jour où brûleront les cités (aka Art Zoyd 3) (1976)
  • Musique pour l’Odyssée (1979)
  • Génération sans futur (1980)
  • Symphonie pour le jour où brûleront les cités (re-recording) (1981)
  • Phase IV (1982)
  • Les espaces inquiets (1983)
  • Le mariage du ciel et de l’enfer (1985, for a ballet by Roland Petit)
  • Berlin (1987)
  • Nosferatu (1990, for the film by F. W. Murnau)
  • Marathonnerre I (1992)
  • Marathonnerre II (1992)
  • Faust (1996, for the film by F. W. Murnau)
  • Häxan (1997)
  • u.B.I.Q.U.e. (2001) (based on the novel Ubik by Philip K. Dick)[1]
  • Expériences de Vol (2002)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *