Alternative TV

Alternative TV were an English post-punk/industrial band from London that released four albums on Deptford Fun City in 1978/79, including a split record with Gong-offshoot Here and Now and another under the ATV alter ego Good Missionaries. Guitarist/singer Mark Perry first made a name for himself as the publisher of Sniffin’ Glue, the first UK punk zine. He also co-founded the DFC label with Miles Copeland.

Members: Mark Perry (vocals, guitar), Alex Fergusson (guitar, 1977-78, 1981, 1995), John Towe (drums, 1977), Dennis Burns (bass, 1977-81), Tyrone Thomas (bass, guitar, 1977-78, 1995-2000), Chris Bennett (drums, 1977-78), Kim Turner (guitar, 1978), Mick Linehan (guitar, 1978), Dave George (guitar, 1979, 1984), Anno Wombat (vocals, 1979), Alan Gruner (keyboards, 1981), Ray Weston (drums, 1981), Nag (bass, 1984), Karl Blake (guitar, drums, 1984-85), Martin “Protag” Neish (guitar, 1984, 1986), Steven Cannell (bass, 1985-88, 1990), Alison Philips (drums, 1985-87), Clive Giblin (guitar, 1987-88)


  • The Image Has Cracked (1978)
  • What You See… Is What You Are (1978, with Here and Now)
  • Vibing Up the Senile Man (Part One) (1979)
  • Strange Kicks (1981)
  • Peep Show (1987)
  • The Industrial Sessions 1977 (1996 • Alternative TV With Genesis P-Orridge)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *